User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bar Blocking A Cardinal Sin Or Not? with Brainypool on the Pub Forum

The Lyndhurst, Reading Central, Reading

88 Queens Road
Reading
RG1 4DG

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


john gray left this review about The Lyndhurst

I like the look of this pub as I passed on the bus but found it pretty basic inside. West Berks -good old boy and Wye Vale -hpa on cask.Two brown beers in decent condition.

On 22nd February 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 933 recommendations about 920 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Lyndhurst

Re-opened after a period of closure. A bit of a freshening up inside if a bit bland. Ale selection fairly interesting and quality is holding up. West Berks, Twickenham, Purity, Ringwood all featured lately. Worth calling in. Dodgy mark-up on halves seems to have gone. Worth looking in.

March 2015
Previous licensee did one at short notice. New people in, usually at least one local ale plus 3-4 others. Beware the ludicrous mark-up on halves.

Nov 2013
The lease has been sold and there are new people in charge. Keeping up with the ale, quality was a little inconsistent at first but has been improving with some eclectic choices available (Ballards Mild and Old Peculiar have cropped up a few times). There is now a proper cider available - Tutts Clump. The blood-red gents loos have been painted over rather badly, which is a shame. Still, worth a look at present (the pub that is).

June 2011
An enjoyable bar that is aimed at professionals and upmarket students, one of three owned by the Spirit House in Reading. It's fairly small (an unusual case of the pub actually being smaller inside than the outside suggests) and quite cosy. Usually four ales on the go, with a relatively eclectic mix offered. Quality is usually quite high, though they're not beyond the odd duff one if management aren't around and ale sales drop off in the summer somewhat. The pub does food, that gets a good review from my more upmarket friends. Candles on the table, if that floats your boat. A good winter pub.

On 22nd April 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Lyndhurst

The Lyndhurst is an L shaped bar with an air of pretentiousness. I’m not sure if this atmosphere was emanating from the fixtures and fittings or the indifferent barman. The bar supports five hand pumps that were drawing Fuller’s London Pride, Sharp’s Doom Bar, Adnams Lighthouse, Thwaites Little Bewdy and Bingham’s Vanilla Stout. There was also a selection of premium and standard draught products. My visit was on Saturday afternoon a couple of weeks ago when the pub was empty apart from the group I was with. Maybe the prices are keeping people away as all the ale was priced at £3.50 a pint and a portion of chips was set at £4.
To the left of the bar is a plasma screen that was turned off and I would imagine that this place actively discourages people that would like to watch Sky Sports with their pint. There is a dartboard to the left of the bar.

I suppose that this place is ok for a quick pint if passing, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to visit here again.

On 24th July 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Lyndhurst

This is a well kept pub and that includes their beers. The pub was quiet on our Saturday afternoon PG crawl, which was a bit of a surprise as it had a decent range of ales. The Thwaites Little Bewdy and London Pride were top notch. This pub does promote the top end lager range and various wines. Well worth a look in.

On 21st July 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2971 recommendations about 2971 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Lyndhurst

A terraced early Victorian? (that is when the area seems to grow rapidly, including the Berkshire Hospital - it was then the Lyndhurst Arms) corner pub and eatery, with a patio area. It is interesting that the pub isn't marked on any old OS maps, but the Spread Eagle that stood opposite (over Queen's Rd) is - so i assume it may have just been a beerhouse then. The pub is rounded, with a cream upper, with sash windows (some blocked), a green midrift, with a base in white, also with sash windows (modern). The interior has an L-shaped room, which is in white and green, with some brick, a white ceiling and a wood floor. Chesterfield sofas are mixed with wood settles. A few old adverts decorate the walls, along with a dart board and a TV (not on). The background music was general and soft. They do food, but I didn't eat, so can't comment on that. The service was a little functional. Beer; usual tap stuff with London Pride, Doombar, Bingham's Vanilla Stout, Adnam's Lighthouse and Thwaite's Little Bewdy, which was decent enough. I quite liked it in here and would pop back in - but i do agree that it felt a bit pretentious.

On 19th July 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Lyndhurst

A fairly basic pub on a street corner,nothing particularly remarkable inside but it made for a comfortable and relaxed drink, five ales were on and I found my choice of Binghams Vanilla Stout to be very good and one of the best beers of a rather long day in Reading.Not in reflection a pub to target pacifically as a destination but given its close proximity to The Retreat just around the corner its worth popping in for a pint.

On 18th July 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1321 recommendations about 1308 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Lyndhurst

A street corner pub,open plan L shaped interior with wooden floor,scrubbed wooden tables and chairs but with more of a bar atmosphere than old school pub.The menu included kangaroo,but I was more interested in another sort of hop.I noted a choice of five real ales,London Pride,Doom Bar,Binghams Vanilla Stout(in decent shape £3.50)Adnams Lighthouse and a handwritten clip for "Twaites" Little Brewdy ,which did actually come from Blackburn and had significant hop character,unusual for them.
There is a darts board,and you could settle for a few beers but it just felt a little too clinical to justify a return visit.

On 14th July 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nigel Sheppard left this review about The Lyndhurst

bit of a posy pub but has a few good beers, well worth a stop.

On 30th June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 192 recommendations about 192 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about Lyndhurst Ale House

A decent pub to bar conversion that has got things just about right. Not exactly atmospheric and there weren't too many in on our visit but the Somerset & Devon Ale was OK.

On 2nd February 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Lyndhurst

A fiendish 2-door snare at the entrance may be a cunning plan to ensure that those who have already had too much ale fail to make it inside. Luckily this was only the 2nd pub of the day so, only a few short minutes after arrival, our party of 3 safely reached the bar! Five handpumps sadly did not include Tribute, but did offer decent Landlord & Brakspear, also Old Hooky plus another couple (unrecorded). Nice open light wood feel to the place, quiet & no music ystdy 13:00 beerPrincess. Papers available on a stand nr bar.

On 23rd March 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]