User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 5th December 2021) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Man of Kent, Rochester

8 John Street
Rochester
ME1 1YN

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Man Of Kent

A very attractive old exterior of Styles & Winch, a Maidstone brewery that bought up the local Troy Town brewery (which still stands at the end of nearby Cazeneuve St). The front doors are shut off and entry is through the side, which takes you into a glorious back street community local with no frills or pretensions. The L-shaped bar has a splendid array of 11 handpumps, all serving different Kent beers at time of visit, plus a clutch of German fonts serving Paulaner and Hacker-Pschorr. At the end of the bar is a small heap of Kentish ciders in boxes while at the back of the pub there is a side room incorporating a library, with a garden behind. We were there early evening when there was a steady flow of regulars, judging from the pulling of the correct beer as they arrived, always a good sign. A permanent exhibition of Kent beers in a proper local which should not be missed.

On 16th August 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2465 recommendations about 2410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Man Of Kent

We called in here on a Saturday eve looking for a comprehensive selection of Kent ales. Unfortunately out of 11 handpumps across the bar, only five were in use. We went for one from Goody Ales Good Health and one from Canterbury ales, both of which were fairly average and didn't warrant a second go. Beer wise, most of the customers on our visit were drinking German and Belgian beers.

On 2nd April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Man Of Kent

The Man of Kent is a back street pub that is a short walk downhill to the train station.
Once inside i was really surprised to see the real ale choice on the bar.
The room is L shaped with the bar facing,there is bench seating to the front and pew seats to the left with small stools,there are a few leather settees in a small area to the front left.
I had a drink of Gadds No 7 which was a really nice drink,the other beers i noted were Gadds DR Sunshine,Goody Ales Genesis,Goachers and Imperial Stout,there were many other real ales and real Ciders i failed to note.
If you like real ales then this is the pub to visit if in Rochester.

Pub visited 6/6/2015

On 6th June 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Man Of Kent

Originally situated just around the corner in an older building (the earliest record of this pub I can find is 1858), it moved to its current building in the 1920s. It is a regular GBG entry and has been the local CAMRA POTY several times - quite deservedly in my opinion.It is a wonderful back street pub, an excellent dog-friendly local and a piece of Rochester's history. The clientele are mostly locals, with a few visitors and CAMRA members mixed in. The staff are friendly but take a no nonsense approach with idiots, and there are no gaming machines or jukeboxes to spoil the ambience. There were 7 ales and 6 ciders on, all from Kent. I had a pint of Kentish Ales Dominator which was in perfect condition. An absolute must for a Rochester crawl and worth dropping in any time.

On 17th May 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2736 recommendations about 2704 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Man Of Kent

This is a fine traditional ale house, 5-10 minutes away from the town's train station and yet sufficiently far enough from the town centre to avoid the tourist masses you're likely to encounter on the High Street. The pub has a simple wooden floor L-shaped interior with white walls and dark beams giving it a basic, traditional feel, offset slightly by what looks to be a rugby shirt collection hanging from the ceiling. Bench and low stool seating follows the bar counter down the side and along the front of the pub, with the room opening out a little to the rear where there are some leather upholstered comfy chairs, TV screens, a large bookshelf and some musical instruments which suggests that live music is a regular feature. My early evening visit saw heavy curtains pulled across the windows, which might make the place seem a little unwelcoming to the first time visitor, but once inside I found the staff and clientele to be a friendly bunch and thought the atmosphere was very inclusive. Music was playing quietly in the background throughout my stay and the barman was enjoying some good banter with the locals which was far more interesting than the paper I was reading.
The pub's greatest asset is its beer range, which comprises of ten handpulls offering a selection of Kentish ales - Goachers Real Mild and Gold Star, Old Dairy Gold Top, Swan Mild, Whitstable Kentish Reserve, Tonbridge Rustic, Abigale Samphire Bitter, Wantsum Black Pig, Hopdaemon Skrimshander IPA and Gadds No 7. In addition to this there were ciders in the shape of Biddenden Bushels and Pawley Farm Sweet, Medium, Dry and Special, whilst the keg fonts provided a few interesting foreign lagers. I thought the ale choice was excellent, with pretty much all styles catered for (I believe that they always ensure there is a mild available) and it was good to see local breweries being so well supported.
I thought this was the highlight of the pubs I visited in Rochester and would certainly consider an extended session in here. I may not be a Man of Kent, but I can't see any harm in becoming a little better acquainted with the beers of Kent.

On 21st December 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2630 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wrate left this review about The Man Of Kent

Not really sure where Martin is going on that review :? I've been a semi-regular at the Man of Kent for about 5 years and have always found it to be welcoming, comfortable and interesting. If you want a chat the staff and clientele are friendly. If you just want to sit and drink your pint you can do that without fear of interruption. It has the widest selection of real ales and micro-beers that I've seen in a pub. You want mango beer? He's got it. Smoked ale? Yep. Belgian fruit beers? Yup! Bitters, porters, stouts from around the country and world? Absolutely! Bottle of Becks or a WKD Blue? Oooh I don't think so matey! Our beers actually TASTE of something! It's got a bookcase full of donated paperbacks and hardbacks ranging from pulp to classic literature that you can just pick up, read and take away with you if you fancy it (although I normally put a donation in whatever charity box is on the bar). Jigsaws, board games. Add to that an active live music agenda (how Rob fits a band of sometimes six people in that tiny bar...) and (I think) 2 open mic nights, one in the week and one on a Sunday night, this is a great pub. At weekends you can barely get through the door. Interesting (and tiny) beer garden out the back with a rather beautifully painted flagpole in the middle. I have never found anything to complain about in this pub, except possibly the rather high-priced bar snacks. It wouldn't hurt to have Walkers or something generic in there. Not everyone wants to pay that much for a small packet of biltong or the indie-crisps.

Find it; enjoy it; tell the world.

PEACE!!

On 15th June 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The Man Of Kent

I imagine this place polarises local opinion. Its frontage is marvellous but leads into a fairly unremarkable spit-and-sawdust interior - The decked garden is a much more pleasant space. On the ale front, my drinking buddy and I were impressed by the selection, all from Kent breweries such as Whitstable, Ramsgate and Goachers, an attitude to be applauded. Although I thought it could do with a bit of TLC inside, its nonetheless a good pub and certainly a lot better than the lager barns found towards the centre of town.

On 8th July 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Martin Amos left this review about The Man Of Kent

Is this the only cask ale pub in the whole of the Medway towns enlighten me someoneThe beer is the only good thing about this pub.Situated out of the way in Troy Town no wonder they keep that quite bit tired is the only words too describe it.

On 7th July 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 34 recommendations about 34 pubs]