User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Eagle Tavern, Rochester

124 High Street
Rochester
ME1 1JT
Phone: 01634409040

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Eagle Tavern

A nice traditionally-furnished pub with a slightly strange shaped interior, Behind there is a large outdoor drinking area covered in decking which is very peaceful, apart from the obligatory extractor fan. Not many beers on at time of visit but the Harvey's Best was ok. various events including live music and quiz nights advertised.

On 15th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2259 recommendations about 2207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Eagle Tavern

The Eagle Tavern is a decent looking pub that is next door to the City Wall pub.
Once inside there is a single L shaped room with the bar facing,the room is bare boarded,the seating is two tall tables and chairs to the front right,two leather settees to the front and normal tables and chairs on the left side.
There is a small stage to the rear left which must be used for the live bands which are advertised.
There were four real ales on the bar,i had a drink of St Austell Tribute which went down very well,the other beers were St Austell Proper Job,Adnams Ghost Ship and Sharps Atlantic.
Decent background music was playing and there was a decent bunch of locals in on my Saturday dinner visit.
There is a garden to the rear.
I quite liked this pub.

Pub visited 6/6/2015

On 6th June 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Eagle Tavern

Plainly furnished single-bar pub, with bare boards and limited decor in an 'ale house' style. Rear patio beer garden under the castle walls. Regular live music advertised. Five handpumps, offering Doom Bar, Harveys, Ghost Ship, Tribute and Proper Job (£3.30) on my latest visit. Overall, one of the better options in Rochester's High Street.

On 23rd August 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Eagle Tavern

The Eagle Tavern is a high street pub in Rochester that opens daily at noon and closes at 21:00 on Mondays, 23:00 Tuesdays through to Thursdays, Midnight Fridays and Saturdays and 20:00 on Sundays. The interior is open plan and writing on the wall boasts that this is Rochester’s premier live music venue. There was no live music during my recent Monday evening visit, but a radio station complete with adverts was playing in the background. I counted three plasma screens that were all switched off and I didn’t see any advertisements for live sport. At the rear of the pub is a beer garden with a smoking area and a decked seating area.
Standard draught products are available from the bar that also supports five hand pumps. These were drawing Young’s London Gold, Sharp’s Doom Bar, St Austell’s Tribute, Well’s Bombardier and Adnam’s Broadside.

I found the service to be friendly and the handful of locals at the bar all seemed harmless enough. I wouldn’t have a problem if I found myself in here again.

On 6th March 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve Stone left this review about The Eagle Tavern

The Eagle does its best to please a varied clientele. There are the pre-clubbers at the weekend, the jazz set, daytime workers, and many others at different times. On a recent visit to the midweek jam night, I found the landlord (?) to be very knowledgeable about his beers and ciders, and willing to discuss them. One of the better pubs in the dismal Rochester scene.

On 11th June 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6 recommendations about 6 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Eagle Tavern

The Eagle has improved substantially since Roger's visit. There have been no structural changes, although it now has 5 ales on. I had a pint of something claiming to be Hobgoblin, which didn't taste like Hobgoblin and was much too dark, but it was a decent enough pint of whatever it really was. Wooden floorboards and furniture give the pub a little character, as do the labyrinthine basement passages one needs to navigate to find the lavatories. A raised area in the corner of the bar is used by regular live music acts, including jazz bands. The staff are a little amateurish, good food is on offer and the pub has now earned a place in GBG, so it's now worth lingering a little longer than before and I would definitely include it in a city crawl.

On 16th May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2570 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Eagle Tavern

Rather uninspiring single room pub situated on the High Street. The furnishings and decor are quite minimal and nondescript but there are 3 decent enough Ales - Doom Bar, Tribute and Rev James however they seem wasted in such drab surroundings. A low stage area in the corner hosts live jazz and comedy sessions and there is a decent looking beer garden with good views of part of the old City Walls which is probably preferable to sitting inside if the weather allows. In a delightful city such as Rochester, there are many far better pubs within spewing distance and the Eagle is probably best done as a single pinter on a crawl.

On 22nd February 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]