User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

The Britannia, Rochester

376 High Street
Rochester
ME1 1DJ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


E TA left this review about The Britannia

Now residential.

On 5th February 2021 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2607 recommendations about 2575 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Britannia Bar Cafe

I visited the Britannia one afternoon the week before Christmas and found a compact pub that was busy with small groups having their Christmas party dinners. I found the staff to be friendly and managed to source one of the stools that line the small bar. Just behind the bar is an extra small seating are and there is a patio garden up some steps at the rear.The bar is stocked with standard draught alongside Cobra and Amstel that is only available by the schooner. The three hand pumps were drawing Seafarers, Caledonian Elf Esteem and Goacher’s Light Ale.
There was no music playing and there is no television.

I quite liked it in here and would have no problem returning if passing.

On 30th January 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3587 recommendations about 3566 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Britannia Bar Cafe

Convenient for Rochester railway station, and a GBG pub to boot, The Brittania is actually a pub dating from the 18th Century despite its current, rather pretentious, name. PSM's description below tells all the salient points as regards the decor - I found it to be a bit sober and cosy, while the back bar had more of a traditional feel to it which was nicely complemented by the easy listening music from the local radio. I found the staff (not the gentleman PSM mentions, I hasten to add) a bit weird and the reception slightly hostile.Three beers on - Samphire Abigale, Goachers Fine Light and Two Hoots Golden Ale - I had the last of those and found it to be in excellent condition. A good place to wait for a train and a definite for inclusion in a City crawl.

On 4th June 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2607 recommendations about 2575 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Britannia Bar Cafe

This smart, compact pub is a five minute walk from Rochester train station in the opposite direction to the town centre. The interior struck me as a British take on a Dutch/Belgian bar, with smart carpets instead of bare floorboards. There are half panelled walls and two sides of the pub have large, partially obscured windows bearing the pub's name, in front of which are attractive brass rails with integral lamps. There are two rooms, with the front room housing the bar in the rear left corner and decorated with various pictures of ships and a large clock mounted on an intricately carved wooden backboard. The rear room is essentially a small, mirror-lined snug with very limited space and minimal seating. A door at the rear, beyond the toilets, gives access to a paved garden area. I was the only customer during my weekday afternoon visit and was treated to the sound of Gold Radio, which churned out all the 'classics' throughout my stay.
There were three hand pumps, each offering a Kentish brew - Gadds No 7 (£3.00) and Rye Pale and Goachers Fine Light. My pint of Gadds was okay, if not on top form, and was served to me by a friendly barman who kept himself busy the whole time I was there, despite the lack of other customers.
As I was approaching the pub, a group of, presumably local, office workers were emptying out and I figured that such young professionals would be the pub's target market, but they have struck a nice balance and it's fair to say that the traditionalist would probably feel comfortable enough here as well. A good alternative to some of Rochester's more 'spit and sawdust' ale houses.

On 14th December 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Britannia Bar Cafe

This early 19th century pub was originally called the Ordnance Arms until adopting its current title in the 1980’s which is, as others have found, a little offputting to general pub goers.

The corner entrance has a few steps up into a lobby in the main bar which consists of a smallish single L shaped room with a small snug at the rear. The décor is neat and tidy with lots of marble effect paintwork, venetian blinds, brass rails, large clock, shallow arches, small marble top tables with chunky candles and a chain of blue fairy lights around the ceiling edges. Background piped radio was churning out a dose of 60’s/70’s chart hits and, on the whole, the place had a pleasant if slightly sterile but safe ambience.

The pub is widely noted for its ales although only 3 hand pumps were evident (Bombardier, Goachers Fine Light Ale and Old Dairy Red Top). They are part of the LocAle scheme although I wasn’t too keen on the Goachers and can’t be certain whether it was the beer or the pub but given the pub’s reputation I would hint at the former.

As for the Café part of the title, I didn’t get the impression that the food plays a particularly big role as I saw no menus and there was a conspicuous absence of daily specials blackboards giving any hint of what food they do or when they do it.

Situated just a few minutes walk from the railway station going away from the town, it isn’t an obvious draw for visitors to the city but pub enthusiasts will certainly find some rewards by disregarding the pretentions of the pub name and taking a minor detour to pay it a visit.

On 19th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Britannia Bar Cafe

The name Bar Cafe has always put me of going into this pub but today I decided to give it a go and I was very pleasantly surprised.Inside is a very nice single bar traditional pub serving 3 real ales with the Goachers Fine Light Ale being in great form.At the back there is a small drinking area that can be very cosy and a very small outside drinking area.Although I didn't try it the food being served looked very nice and there was plenty of it.Very well worth the 10/15 mins walk from Rochester/Chatham railway stations.

On 18th February 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Britannia Bar Cafe

In a very different world to the main pedestrian high street in Rochester, this pub is surrounded by run down broken and mainly empty buildings. Its directly between Chatham & Rochester railway stations. However, once inside its very smart and attractive in what I would say is a 1920's almost art deco style, with distressed cream walls. Not the largest of pubs, an L-shaped room, a number of the main tables were reserved for diners, rather strange at 10am in the morning!

There are a number of stools at & near the bar & this is where you are encouraged to sit. Gold radio provides the background entertainment.

A pleasent pub, there are 3 real ales, including Goachers FLA, which was well kept.

On 18th May 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Britannia Bar Cafe

Somewhat hidden away at the tatty Chatham end of Rochester High Street, and then up a few steps up through the corner door to this 'bar cafe'. Pleasant, continental-style interior with a good selection of furniture and a very curious little alcove near the back. Three handpumps, including Goachers Light and Batemans Miss Ireland (a tasty golden beer). It was raining so I only took a quick peek at the small beer garden out back, but that looked worth trying on a better day. GBG listed for quite a few years, friendly staff and well worth seeking out.

On 4th April 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The Britannia Bar Cafe

The blinds, brass lighting and decoration of this pub's interior give it a somewhat continental feel and the deceptively spacious garden is also a plus. The Goachers on offer was in excellent nick and dispensed efficiently by the guvnor. More than worth a look if you're in the area.

On 8th July 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]