User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Reviewing milestone with Delboy20 on the Pub Forum

Hop Pole Inn, Nettlestead Green, Maidstone

Maidstone Road
Maidstone
ME18 5HH

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Hop Pole Inn

This pub has had its ups and down over time, and - unfortunately - it seems rather run down compared with my previous visit a few years ago. Quite a basic bar, with a divided dining room to one side and a conservatory at the back. Small patio area on wooden decking at the front, with a much larger beer garden to the rear. Two of three handpumps in operation, dispensing Bombardier (£3.00) and Flying Scotsman. Perhaps I caught it on a bad day this time, but something of a disappointment.

On 5th May 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter johnson left this review about Hop Pole Inn

I visited the the hop pole for the 1st time this sunday after some positive reviews from freinds that had eaten there before. Me and my wife totally enjoyed the atmosphere and food, I believe there is new staff and a new chef whos food and presentation is lovely. On speaking to the chef Mark he told me that all the veg is now bought directly from spifields market and is really fresh, the deserts were homemade I had the lemon and lime cheesecake which was fantastic. I have now booked a table of 8 for fathers day.

On 13th June 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


loudandrunk N/A left this review about Hop Pole Inn

By the way, my wife posted a comment regarding food.
We don't recommend this Pub and restaurant.

On 18th February 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


loudandrunk N/A left this review about Hop Pole Inn

Meet up a friend and had drink in this pub in few occassion in the last month. When you entered straight away you felt is not a welcoming athmosphere, a group of louds and drunk look at you and you can feel the word ''WHAT ARE YOU DOING IN OUR PUB''Even the barmaid attitude is i served your drink don't know you, not interested, i'm back chatting with the group.
Our opinion, this pub is getting worst.

We only meet up here because this is a halfway we're we lived. so we decided we go all the way to the town at least we can laugh, have a drink and enjoy the night.
Pals don't recommend this pub. It's a NO...NO..NO..

On 18th February 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


loudandrunk N/A left this review about Hop Pole Inn

Had lunch in this Pub yesterday,nothing impress me at all. Food is average, we all know that the food competition now are massive and for the price of their sunday carvery i will say i can get better food somewhere else. The funny thing is i found a hair in my veg. so i burried it and just ate the meat. when i told my husband lastnight he told me why i did not say anything, well i do not want to make a scene. The dessert is a supermarket ready made, sometimes i can buy those from asda for £1 a box. why would i pay their price? By the way im using my husband email, his a pub panatic. he might want to post our experience in this pub, well i've done it first. Overall i do not recomend this pub, try somewhere else, loads of pub serving good sunday lunch and comes with good atmosphere.

On 14th February 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Paula K left this review about Hop Pole Inn

I posted a review to this pub in the other website, its never been posted don't know what happened.
Anyway, my husband booked us to have carvery in this Pub on weekdays lastweek, when we turn up to the pub we were told they can't serve lunch their cooker is not working, annoying because we are all hungry, well thing like this happened so we just find somewhere else. We booked again on Sunday because the carvery is buy one get one free that week. All i can say is totally disaster we had to wait 1hour for the potatoe, the person serving do not look confident cutting meat, cut into small bits and pieces, vegetables and gravy not good. This pub have a reputation of cheap all you can eat carvery, it's for people just want to have meal outside their home and socialise and do not look at the food quality and taste. My opinion tables and chairs are new and much cleaner but food are the same.Not looking forward to come back unless the price is buy one get one free.

On 21st January 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Allison N/A left this review about Hop Pole Inn

A friend of mine mentioned that the carvery in this pub is buy one get one free, she did warned me that the food is not brilliant but i took my husband yesterday because you cannot cook at home for the price they offer. The beef is so tender but cut into small bits, totall agreed with my friend food is not brilliant, something missing on gravy so i used lots of sauce to make up the taste. The dessert served the way i like it, cream is separate in a little jar but it's hot and make the texture funny. I heard from the other customer that the scoop of ice cream is too small.

On 16th January 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Paula K left this review about Hop Pole Inn

I had lunch in this pub 3 days ago, the food is not good. veg and meat are blunt, gravy doesn't add any taste as tasteless, meat is not cut properly it's shredded like a cat food, i would prepare if it's cut and lay on my plate nicely. I can't complain because you get what you pay for. Buy one get one free for £6.95 but do i will pay for full price NO....the waiter is brilliant though.

On 16th January 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nicola Cooper left this review about Hop Pole Inn

I visited this pub for Sunday Lunch and was absolutely disgusted. When we entered the pub I went to the bar and was asked if I had booked, I said I had. the bar maid then went on to chat to other people at the bar and her colleagues behind the bar, leaving me for nearly 10 minutes before I had to ask if we should just go and sit ourselves down somewhere. We were eventually lead to the conservatory. The tables we had were old and stained and I would liken them to something that had been in the back room of a village hall for the past 10 years. We had to swap 3 chairs with ones from other tables as they were broken and the ones we were left with sank in the middle when you sat on them. The floor was filthy. The carvery tasted "ok" but, just as we sat down with our food, we were informed by a waitress that they had run out of yorkshire puddings (bear in mind this was only 1pm) and if were wanted some they would be about 15 minutes! I would not recommend this pub to ANYONE. Such a shame as it used to be lovely

On 20th September 2010 - rating: 1
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Stevens left this review about Hop Pole Inn

We visited this excellent pub this Sunday, with a large group of friends, and I can only say I'm very glad we booked! It was fantastic, and I'm not surprised it was so busy. The food was excellent, the service was excellent. Well done - we will definitely come back again.

On 22nd February 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]

Page: 1 2