User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with Delboy20 on the Pub Forum

Thomas Ingoldsby (JD Wetherspoon), Canterbury

9 Burgate
Canterbury
CT1 2HG

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Thomas Ingoldsby (JD Wetherspoon)

An old school Spoons with lots of wood panelling and the usual library area to one side. There is a fair-sized second bar upstairs as well, plus the hotel side. Ales on were Whitstable Pearl of Kent and Exmoor Gold, plus Ruddles/Abbot/Doom Bar/Bombardier which sadly were repeated on the second block of pumps. Despite this, it seemed quite pleasant and felt slightly above average.

On 18th August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2271 recommendations about 2218 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Thomas Ingoldsby (JD Wetherspoon)

A large run of the mill Spoons with two banks of six handpumps offering a fairly non-descript range of ales. The only one that stood out for us was the Mauldons Black Adder. The clever staff in here had decorated the pump clips with artificial spiders webs for Halloween, which made it difficult to read the pump clips, so one had to go along the bar lifting up the cobwebs ha!

On 10th November 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Thomas Ingoldsby (JD Wetherspoon)

This is very much an old school JDW shop conversion with typical furnishings and the old dark blue and gold plastic signage. There was one table near where I sat with a fairly raucous Daytime Brigade trio but at least there weren't any rampaging kids. The rest was a mix of students, shoppers and people in for something to eat. The 12 hand pumps had no blanks, or Available Soon and only the Ruddles and Doom Bore from the JDW Trio Of Doom doubled up. The rest consisted of a cider, Rockin' Robin Really Rockin' & Reckless Robin, Old Dairy Blue Top, Whitstable Winkle Porter, Adnam's Lighthouse and Hobgoblin. I went for the Blue Top (£2.19) which was first class and more than £2.00 cheaper than another 4.8% ABV Kent beer tried in a GBG listed Canterbury pub (neither JDWs are in the 2017 guide).
If you can put up with the tired old school JDW interior this one seems to be a good one.

On 17th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Thomas Ingoldsby (JD Wetherspoon)

Large, anonymous 'spoons conversion with no memorable features. 12 handpumps in total, and despite some duplicates there were still a few interesting ales e.g. the local Wantsum Hengist at £2.60.

On 24th August 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Thomas Ingoldsby (JD Wetherspoon)

This large Wetherspoons pub at the eastern end of the city centre, is situated in a former furniture store and takes its name from the alias of author Richard Harris Barham who was apparently born in a building opposite the pub. As you'd expect from such a store conversion, the interior is pretty spacious with the bar on the back wall, but a large section of the pub extends further back than this on the right hand side. There is ample seating throughout with a family area on a raised section at the very back. My Sunday morning visit saw the place filling up very quickly with a real cross-section of the community. The staff seemed fairly friendly and coped well at the bar, although my breakfast took relatively long to emerge, certainly by Wetherspoons usual speedy standards. Unfortunately, an otherwise enjoyable visit was spoilt somewhat by three kids running riot throughout the pub with little or no attempt to stop them from the parents or staff.
I counted twelve hand pumps along the bar counter, with the majority coming from the 'Spoons beer festival range which was in full swing at the time of my visit. Feeling somewhat worse for wear after two heavy nights, I opted for a mug of tea, but the pub has been in recent Good Beer Guides, if not the current edition.
I thought this was a pretty good Wetherspoons, with attentive staff keeping the place nice and clean and a buzzing atmosphere, until the kids were let loose. Perhaps not the first pub on the list to visit when in town, but a good option to have nonetheless.

On 17th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Thomas Ingoldsby (JD Wetherspoon)

A former furniture showroom, The Thomas Ingoldsby is named after the Ingoldsby novels of local author, Richard Harris Barham, a contemporary of Dickens's. It comprises a large open-plan bar, which feels more like an amusement arcade than a pub because of the large number of gaming machines. The staff were pleasant, and the clientele were more affluent than normal for a JDW. There were 7 ales and 2 ciders on. I had a pint of Wantsum Black Prince which was a bit flat, though as it's not something I drink often, I can't say whether it's supposed to be like that.. It was a decent enough pint, though. A reasonable place to while away an hour while the wife shops, and as it has a GBG listing I am sure I'll be back soon enough.

On 9th November 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2616 recommendations about 2584 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Thomas Ingoldsby (JD Wetherspoon)

Not a lot of choice above the usual ales, but we did get Caledonian Flying Dutchman. Prompt service for a spoons, and appeared to have clean tidy tables.

On 5th June 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1320 recommendations about 1204 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Thomas Ingoldsby (JD Wetherspoon)

A very large and very dark Wetherspoons selling a fair range of real ales but then again it was the spring beer festival

On 18th April 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]