User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Greyhound (JD Wetherspoon), Bromley

205 High Street
Bromley
BR1 1NY

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Greyhound (JD Wetherspoon)

I agree with Aqualung that this was the better Spoons compared to the one at Bromley South Station. We popped in on a Thursday afternoon so the service and acquiring a seat was easy. The interior was very well kept and quite plush and the clientele very respectable. Two banks of five pumps, so we went for the Portobello Decca and the Nottingham Brewery Dreadnought. The Dreadnought being the better choice and at £2.40 a pint.

On 18th November 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Greyhound (JD Wetherspoon)

not the best Spoons I have been in but it’s probably a better option for a quick meal and pint than the ripoff pretentious pie pub up the road. had friendly locals at the bar and a good range of real ales including a fairly nice local stout today. Service haphazard and inept, it’s never fun to have to explain their own menu deals to them. And not keen on the open kitchen where you can watch your dinner coming out of the microwave. A reasonable place otherwise though.

On 31st January 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Greyhound (JD Wetherspoon)

The previous reviewers have pretty much said it all. I would just add that guest ales were £2.79 a pint, and the traditional breakfast is £3.35. I had a pint of the Windsor & Eton Canberra, which was a decent enough drop. I too noted the portraits, including a large one of Charles Darwin, of Downe in Kent; smaller ones of Enid Blyton (married in Bromley); Richmal Crompton of Just William fame (a teacher in Bromley); and HG Wells (born in Bromley).

As 'spoons go I thought that this one was slightly better than the crowd. It did the job in providing decent beer and scran when it was needed.

On 3rd December 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Greyhound (JD Wetherspoon)

Clearly a pub in its pre-JDW days however very probably much extended since. There is a long room on entering with the bar a bit back along the side as usual, this leads on to another entrance from the street behind however through a split area opposite the bar the pub takes a left turn and extends back quite some distance more. From here you can sit outside either at ground level or up some steps onto a terrace subject to time restrictions.
I thought this spoons was superior to some with better quality seating at upholstered chairs and banquettes at the far end of the "L" under some bookshelves. The opposite entrances and access to the outdoor area results in more natural light than you get in some of their pubs.
There was a proper fire burning which was welcome, we were in for a pre-crawl breakfast which was as consistent as always, mine accompanied by a decent pint of Wibbler's Genesis.
There seems to be a local connection with various noted people of times gone, Charles Darwin, HG Wells, Richmal Crompton and others featured in frames along the walls.
It was ok in here, we returned several hours later as some of our comrades required another food fix.

On 23rd November 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Greyhound (JD Wetherspoon)

This well positioned town centre pub doesn’t really look like a Wetherspoons from outside, perhaps owing to the fact that it has always been a pub, rather than a former shop. You pass through a front patio area into an unusual dark wood panelled passageway which eventually sees the servery appear on the right hand side. There is a small, but smartly appointed seating area behind the left hand panels and the layout put me in mind of the Lord Palmerston in Southsea, which has a similar partitioned space close to the entrance. The bulk of the pub appears beyond the bar, where the building extends an unexpected distance to the left. Near the bar there is a small fireplace with a dark wood panel surround, an attractive patterned tile floor and a swanky faux-crystal light fixture. Fake bookcases and old landscape paintings help to enhance the pubby feel of the place, although potted palm trees, Spoons info boards and irritating customers of the sort that don’t normally visit pubs gave the game away somewhat. There is a vast amount of standard seating throughout the entire rear section of the pub as it moves past an open kitchen and a series of portraits into a further area lit by a long row of folding doors with several TV screens showing muted rolling news coverage.
There were six guest ales on the bar alongside two ‘Spoons regulars and two unused pumps. I had a pint of the Salopian Shropshire Gold which I thought was a bit below par. The staff were very friendly but were far too busy messing around amongst themselves to provide any sort of quick or efficient service. I visited on a Thursday night and was a little surprised to find the place completely packed.
This is quite a nice pub when taken on face value – it has a well kept and interesting interior, feels more pub-like than your average Wetherspoons and had a good vibe from a large mid-week crowd. However, it let itself down badly on beer quality and service and I think there are a number of other pubs around town where you might better spend your time.

On 21st September 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Greyhound (JD Wetherspoon)

The Greyhound looks like an old pub from the outside.
Once inside there is a long narrow area running to the rear,the bar is on the right side there are wood pillars separating the bar from a narrow drinking area which also runs to the rear,the main and larger drinking area is to the rear left,this area looked quite smart and comfortable,the room is carpeted and the seating mainly normal tables and chairs,there is a leather bench seat to the far left.
The beer choice was decent and served by a friendly barman,i had a drink of Bragby Conwy Welsh Pride which was quite a nice drink,the other beers i noted were Oakleaf Flakes,Bath Ales Barnsley,W.J, KIng Red River,plus one from Flack Manor,there was alos the usuall Spoons regulars on the bar.
I quite liked this one,i could have settled in here if not on a pub crawl.

Pub visited 14/2/2015

On 14th February 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Greyhound (JD Wetherspoon)

When you first go in this looks like a small compact pub but when you get to the back it opens up into a larger back area.This is a clean and comfortable jd but then again it is fairly new. A good range of real ale on.

On 2nd April 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Greyhound (JD Wetherspoon)

Contrary to what is said below this is not a shop conversion but an original pub, probably Whitbread as an old beer guide shows it selling Wethered's Bitter and Flower's Original.
Having said that, the interior does look more like a shop conversion than a pub as it is long and narrow with an extended area at the rear.

It's only been open as a Spoons for two years and is a much pleasanter place than the Spoons down by Bromley South Station some half a mile away. There are two banks of five pumps with no doubling up but sadly two uninvited guests, Doombar and London Pride. With the two usual GK beers this left six proper guests which were Warwickshire Churchyard Bob, two WJ King, a Clarence & Frederick, a By the Horns and a Westerham beer. I went for the Churchyard Bob (£2.29) which was in very good nick. This was my favourite of the four SE London Spoons visited on the day.

On 31st August 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Greyhound (JD Wetherspoon)

Fairly new addition to the Wetherspoons empire (dating from 2011). The 'L'-shaped bar is much larger than the facade behind the front patio would suggest. Usual furniture and decor. Unusually for the chain, it has a semi-open kitchen. Forgot to count the number of handpumps, but they were all on with several interesting guests (including Arundel Old Scrooge, £2.09) in addition to the usual suspects. Overall, you will know what to expect, and it does it reasonably well, but I got the impression that some of the staff weren't quite up to speed.

On 3rd January 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Greyhound (JD Wetherspoon)

A deceptively large pub in a typical JDW shop conversion, the Greyhound has a small frontage and a much larger interior which spreads into neighbouring premises and to the rear of the terrace to form an airy L -shaped bar. Floors are mostly carpeted, but with a worthwhile tiled section which adds an air of calm. Pleasant (if slightly vacuous) staff, apart from the lady manager who was extremely efficient, polite and helpful. Carpeted floor and food servery which allows visibility of what is going on in the kitchen. There is a smokers' area to the front and easy access to Sainsbury's at the rear, though the latter allows smoke from other areas to blow in when the doors are open. There were 8 ales on - I had Pewsey Three Castles, which was in very good condition. The food was still below par for pub food. Worth dropping in for a pint, and certainly a better bet than the other nearby JDW.

On 15th October 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2600 recommendations about 2574 pubs]