User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Summer 2020 crawl - possible venues with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

Robin Hood & Little John, Bexleyheath Town, Bexleyheath

78 Lion Road
Bexleyheath
DA6 8PF
Phone: 02083031128

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

This charming traditional pub dates back to the mid 19th Century and is a slightly incongruous find in the middle of the relatively new housing estate that surrounds it. The pub has a simple U shaped layout that would previously have been split into two separate bars, but now forms one single room wrapping around the centrally positioned servery. The servery is directly opposite as you enter and presents a nice period counter and bar back with a large pump clip collection on the canopy, from which a collection of pewter tankards and ceramic jugs are hung. The room is carpeted throughout and offers a mix of padded bench and pew seating plus standard chairs and low stools, all serving a variety of tables, several of which are made from old Singer sewing machine frames. Various high shelves display eclectic items including a collection of copper goblets, delft style plates and other odds and ends. In the rear corner, next to a small brick fireplace, there is a nice embroidered image of the pub which someone obviously invested a lot of time and effort to lovingly produce. Hops line the walls, neatly capping the ‘rural’ feel the pub has managed to retain in spite of the surrounding urban sprawl. A good atmosphere was generated by the steadily building crowd on my Saturday early evening visit and this was not impeded by the music that quietly played in the background.
There was a good range of ale available on this visit, comprising Adnams Southwold Bitter, Sharps Doom Bar, Brains Rev. James, Harvey’s Best, Fullers London Pride, Bexley B.O.B and George Gale Firecracker. The local Bexley brew cost £2.95 for a pint and was in tip-top condition, served by one of the two genial barmen on duty. Food is also available here, with Italian dishes apparently featuring prominently, although I failed to spot any menus during my visit.
This was a very enjoyable visit and a most welcome peaceful retreat from the loud, bright bars on the main Bexleyheath drag. This is a classic back street pub of the type that deserves to thrive and I would highly recommend a visit if in the area. It is worth noting that the pub keeps ‘traditional’ opening hours, so don’t do what I did and turn up to find the place closed mid-afternoon. Opening times are: Mon – Fri: 11:00-15:00 and 17.30-23:00, Saturday 11:00-15:00 and 19:00-23:00, Sunday 12:00-16:00 and 19:00-22.30.

On 8th January 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2402 recommendations about 2402 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

When I was in on Wednesday lunchtime they had on Adnam's Broadside and Best, Harvey's Best, Doom Bar, London Pride, Brain's Rev James, Shepherd Neame Late Red, and BOB (Bexley's Own Beer) Pale Ale. The first half a dozen are regulars, with the Late Red and BOB as guests. The prices are good - the BOB is £2.95, Adnam's Best is £3.35, and the others £3.55 or £3.65. Although there are some of the usual suspects in there, others are less usually seen, and the BOB is obviously from a local microbrewery and looks the best bet (it was in top notch condition as well). As others have said, the handpumps aren't all in the same place and you need to either examine the lists that are on display, or walk along the bar to examine all the clips (the guest ales were on pumps along to the left, and not on the bank of pumps facing you as you enter). A bar snacks menu was available with everything very reasonably priced - beefburgers are £2.75, and sarnies are from £3.95 (cheese, ham) to £5.95 (prawn cocktail).

This really is a country pub few paces from the main high street. There are low beams decorated with loads of pump clips, and with jugs and glass mugs hanging from them, plus more decor (plates and the like) on narrow shelves high on the walls. It's carpeted throughout and almost entirely furnished with settles and normal tables and chairs, but with a couple of armchairs filling a couple of small spaces. There are a few tables and chairs outside at the front.

This pub is a real gem, and thus was quite busy on my lunchtime visit. They do excellent beer, at excellent prices, and with a friendly landlady who took the trouble to tell me about the Bexley brewery ales. This is one of the pubs that really are worth seeking out. I would dearly like to make a return visit to this one.

On 18th December 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2573 recommendations about 2491 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

Superb pub and one I used way back in 1976. To have this sort of pub in Bexleyheath is very fortunate. A reminder of bygone days.

On 3rd March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

It is hard to imagine a place that resembles a country village pub being 10 minutes walk down a quiet(ish) side street from the bustle of Bexleyheath High Street. You certainly wouldn’t find the place by accident but the pub is the areas must do pub for Ale aficionados. Having won the local CAMRA Pub of the Year award for the last 10 years you could argue that it says as much about the competition than the pub itself and to be honest, my last 2 or 3 visits have left a certain amount of disappointment given the pub’s reputation.

The interior is quite homely but not particularly spacious despite being extended to one side and the place can get a little cramped when busy. There is a mix of built in seats, leather armchairs and stools and you will more than likely find yourself sitting at an old sewing machine table. I have always felt that the interior lighting is far too bright and could do with toning down a bit. The ambience is quite sedate with safe unobtrusive music and a flat screen TV which doesn’t really suit the building. To the rear is a small but quite pleasant floodlit beer garden and there are also bench seats out the front.

My recent visits (including Burns night) I have found the ale choices a bit too mainstream and mundane and whilst there are usually around 7 or 8 available, several are quite ordinary (eg Adnams, Broadside, Canterbury Jack) or at best, regularly found guest ales (eg Doom Bar, Harveys, Brakspear) with just the occasional beer that really makes ale pubs so special. I am always particularly disappointed by the lack of any local micro’s although to be fair my visits are quite sporadic and I may just be unlucky on the days I go. One other small gripe is that the hand pumps are dispersed across the bar making it difficult to see what is actually on although there are lists and posters dotted about so best to check them before diving straight to the bar. The boss is extremely enthusiastic and knowledgeable about his beers and will happily guide you through what’s on. The ale quality is, as you would expect from the multiple certificates lining the walls, second to none and despite my gripes, things should be put into perspective in that this is still one of the top pubs in the area. The customer base is a far cry from the usual Bexleyheath feral gang mentality and whilst it may be slightly resting on its laden CAMRA award laurels, it is still well worth a visit if in town.

On 24th February 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

Fine welcoming and friendly with a superb selection of well kept ales. Busy as it really deserves to be, on offer were Adnams Broadside and Bitter, Harveys Sussex, London Pride, Sheps Kents Best, Brentwood Best, Brakspears Bitter and Brains Reverend James. An old building apparently swallowed by suburbia, timber beams etc, but evidence of some unsympathetic refurbishment sadly. Certainly worth a look though, and easily the best pub in the area.

On 20th April 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

Much to like about this pub from the friendly staff and local, but welcoming, atmosphere to the good selection of handpumped ales; I think there were 5 on offer including Harveys and a very fine Sheps Whitstable Bay.
Closing time is 15:00 during the week which was a particular shame yesterday as I arrived at only 14:30 after a rapid march from the already-closed Prince Albert.
RH&LJ is certainly a pub to which I would return if in the area but may be a little out of the way for a specific visit, given the lack of ‘crawl' opportunities nearby.

On 31st August 2007 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Smith left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

This is a fantastic, traditional pub with an excellent range of real ales and a warm atmosphere. Over 21's only means that there is a 'grown-up' feel to the pub. Highly recommended.

On 12th January 2006 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]