User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

Lock Stock & Barrel, Newbury Central, Newbury

104 Northbrook Street
Newbury
RG14 1AA
Phone: 01635580550

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about Lock Stock & Barrel

The place continues to tick along, although beer quality doesn’t seem as consistently good as once was, although Dark Star now seems to be a fixture on the bar. Still popular though, and is often very busy. But it’s not the Newbury ‘must visit’ it once was, the Catherine Wheel, King Charles and (I kid not) Spoons have really sewn up the ale drinking market, especially as this place is the most expensive drinking spot!

September 2015
Has had a refit but nothing too drastic. Drink options pretty similar, my Gales Seafarers was decent though overpriced. It’s worth dropping in during a crawl but it’s no longer top dog in RG14. Rated 7

September 2013
Newbury’s most obviously ‘nice’ pub, situated down a small alleyway and boasting and impressive outside terrace overlooking the canal and lock side. Six ale pumps with most of the Fuller’s branded range plus West Berks GOB. The beer in my experience is generally good though I'm less convinced that they really know what they're doing behind the bar (eg having a clipped ale on that hadn't been available since the previous night). As noted, it is expensive for Newbury but that has more to do with Fuller’s pricing policy. Bar usually well-staffed though a good number of punters pay for everything by card slowing service to a crawl. The interior is done in various shades of brown bar a narrow but larger dining area at the rear. Some nice small paned frosted glass work along the top of the bar plus a sit-down arcade machine that appears to be in working order. Probably (just) my favourite in town. Rated 7

On 15th December 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Lock Stock & Barrel

This is a difficult pub to find,tucked away from a shopping street but it's position along the banks of the fast flowing Kennet and with views over the canal make it an iconic watering hole.The interior is quite unremarkable but the outside patio is great in good weather and attracts a wide range of customers including some all female groups.The ale choice is all from Fullers and my Olivers Island was acceptable if not memorable.
This was a nostalgic revisit after 20 years to a pub know to the crew as The Lock,Stock & Brawl and it was a pleasant feeling to leave the premises voluntarily this time.

On 16th July 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2015 recommendations about 2015 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Lock Stock & Barrel

The Lock, Stock and Barrel seems little changed from when I first visited in the early/mid '90's.
It's nicely situated - tucked off the High Street with attractive terraces overlooking the Kennet and Avon canal and it's feeders.
The emphasis seems to be a little more on food than it once was, a sign of the times, with tables all equipped for potential diners. There were certainly plenty partaking at lunchtime and several were still there when we visited in the evening.
The service was fairly sterile and the clientele mixed. I'd guess that it's popular with nearby Vodafone employees although I didn't spot any plastic Yorkshire engineers.
Beers were all from the Fullers stable: Oliver's Island, London Pride, Ninety and ESB. I plumped for a Wild River from the keg selection which was as expected. It doesn't feature in the 2016 GBG and with good reason as Newbury has better options.
A nice spot for lunch on a sunny day overlooking the canal or perhaps an ESB in the winter.

On 12th July 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Lock Stock & Barrel

Looks like a purpose built tourist trap, nicely situated alongside the canal and very popular. Six pumps offering various Fullers beers, I had a rather average Olivers Island, not really my kind of place.

On 5th June 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1293 recommendations about 1281 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Lock Stock & Barrel

Called in what a nice surprise nice sun terrace outside on the canal were you can ss the lock in full working order. Had a good pint of Fullers Seafarers 3.6% would call again

On 6th August 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Lock Stock & Barrel

Expensive, river and canalside pub reached down an alley, it is a Fullers tied house although there were only two Fullers beers but four guests being served from a nice carved counter with some etched glass, when I visited. The guests were all from either Yorkshire or South Wales. It is Newbury's only GBG2010 listed pub. A bit pricey, but the quality of the beer is excellent. A few mini T-bars offer the usual kegs. It is an old building but has an “arty” modern interior, sofas, domestic style tables and chairs, an artfully arranged collection of mirrors, louvred window shutters and a few bits of art work. The service is largely of the “are you alright there” type combined with 'spoons-ish speed from young staff although the clientele is of mixed ages and types, but no gay bargees that I can report. Card games are taken quite seriously with special table coverings and chips being brought out for the occasion, this was not incidentally on a Thursday when Sky Poker is on. The pub also has a riverside terrace and a roof terrace.

On 11th July 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2127 recommendations about 1974 pubs]