User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2021 with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Catherine Wheel, Newbury

35 Cheap Street
Newbury
RG14 5DB
Phone: 01635569897

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about The Catherine Wheel

A good beer guide 2021 tick and one that I would have loved to get to know better.

Efficient service and provided with an extensive menu, detailing 6x cask, several keg and a long list of exotic Belgian Beers.

A nice little courtyard - chatty locals.

I went for an Otter Ale - which wasn't quite in the condition that I would expect. A bit thin and lifeless by the time I got half way down.

I would certainly have loved to have stayed and tried others - but time and trains wait for no man.

On 1st June 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 846 recommendations about 838 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Catherine Wheel

The Cath, under Warwick’s management, has really become the premier ale and pub destination in Newbury. The ale range remains heavily local and invariably in good-to-excellent condition. There is now a tidy range of proper cider and large collection of craft beers and bottles, from the UK and overseas. There is latterly an impressive gin offering too. The latter means the pub tends to maintain a good balance of the genders and ages. This is now a pub that is not just the best in Newbury, but is up there with the very best in Berkshire.

September 2015
Six local ales on the go usually and good quality is the norm in here. CAMRA discount available as stated below. Also an increasingly exciting bottled range from overseas in addition. Worth alighting the train for. Rated 8

September 2014
Now re-refurbished and re-opened under the guidance of Warwick who had the Maiden Over in Reading. Has been opened-out a little inside but still retains distinct areas. There’s a working fireplace which looks a good bet for the winter months. Interior décor is a sort of bluey version of battleship grey, which worked fairly well but not sure if the pub gets enough natural light to stop it looking slightly gloomy? Nice little garden off to the rear as well. Food currently limited to Pieminister pies. Five local ales and thirds are available (to a pint). My West Berks Chubbs was in good shape. Lots of potential here and in a town lacking a really good alehouse, this could turn into a winner. I’ll be back. Rated 7

Sept 2013 (as Jack O' Newbury)
Closed on my Sunday sojourn. Intriguing castle-esque battlement façade. Couple of handpulls on the bar. Previously called Gordon's Bar.

On 15th November 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Catherine Wheel

Another traditional town pub which has recently undergone refurbishment, in this case done with some sympathy.
The result is an area which feels like a pub, albeit a with a tidy and modern take, with wood floors, grey and white walls and a very plush smoking courtyard with all the essential fixtures including inset televisions and heaters.
There is an enormous selection of 'craft' beer available both bottled - at least fifty across many nationalities - and on keg.
Cask choices on our visit were: Red Cat Prowler, Loddon Hoppit, WBB Good Old Boy, Catherine Wheel Ale (from the Longdog Brewery), Wild Weather Skadoosh Double IPA and a real cider. All standard, low strength beers apart from the Skadoosh at a knockout 11%. It really was very good.
I don't know if the inclusion of one strong ale is policy, I'd hope so, but the Skadoosh and the friendly service would more than enough to tempt me into a revisit.

On 4th August 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Catherine Wheel

A decent refurb has created an ale house vibe,and there are a few nooks and crannies around the interior which splits into a few sections.The paintwork is all Farrow & Ball,but I like the way it's done.
There is a wide variety of bottled beers,craft keg usually featuring brews from Siren Craft and 6 handpumps.On my trip West Berks Good Old Boy,Loddon Hoppit,Winchester Prowler Pale ,a real cider and Wild Weather Skadoosh Double IPA 11% were available.The pub was only selling the Skadoosh by the schooner or third,but I had to try it and found it excellent ,complex yet drinkable for £3 the two third.
Outside this rocket fuel,the range on my trip could be seen as pedestrian,but good luck to them for putting on an 11%er ,and for that very fact this is a pub I would try again when next in Newbury.

On 15th July 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2202 recommendations about 2202 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Catherine Wheel

A nice sympatheticaly modernised pub but manages to retain a good traditional feel. Beers noted were Longdog Bunny Chaser and Lamplight Porter,Andwell King John and West Berks Good Old Boy, Cider seems to be popular here I counted nine different boxes and indeed there is a 30p a pint discount on both beer and Cider.Also there was a good range of bottled Belgian beer as well as some craft stuff in bottles and cans. Certainly one of the better watering holes in town.

On 6th June 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1436 recommendations about 1420 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Catherine Wheel

Quite a change here, from a basic spit and sawdust type boozer of my last visit to a trendy dining pub with six pumps and eight ciders. The food is largely pie based but in spite of this it all feels a bit yummy mummy and middle class, scatter cushions and all that. Nothing wrong with the place but the beer quality was a bit ordinary, common enough in Newbury, and the service like wise. Not the kind of comfortable relaxing experience I prefer in a pub. The music choice was fine, a mix of Pink Floyd, Beatles and Eagles.

On 22nd April 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2441 recommendations about 2242 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Warwick Heskins left this review about The Catherine Wheel

Now offering CAMRA discount of 30p per pint / 15p half / 10p Third.

On 23rd February 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Catherine Wheel

Nicely decorated its one of this pub chain that sells those over priced pies there nothing special and not worth the money but a nice place for a drink

On 5th August 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Catherine Wheel

Pretty basic town centre boozer, a long thinnish main bar with an alcove type space, to the left as you enter, with a TV and fancy fireplace. The counter runs down one side armed with a Stella fount a couple of T Bars and three pumps one missing its handle. HSB and Courage Best on offer, the Best was in very good condition, probably a better beer than it's been for a while now. Scuffed bare board floor, plan walls with the odd repro late 19th Century adverts on the wall. Indifferent customers but the bar service was first rate. An interesting place with well kept beer but a bit spartan.

On 11th July 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2441 recommendations about 2242 pubs]