User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Micropub Definitions with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

Black Horse, Hertford Town, Hertford

31 West Street
Hertford
SG13 8EZ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rex Rattus left this review about Black Horse

This pub certainly is now free of tie, and the benefit of this can be seen in the real ales available now. No McMullens in here, just Tring Fanny Ebbs; 3 Brewers IPA; Young's Bitter; Oakham OPA; Kent Brewery KGB; and Buntingford IPA. An excellent selection. They do food, but I didn't see a menu.

This is another lovely old pub in Hertford, and is Grade II Listed. It really does look the part of an historic pub. Comfortably furnished with just traditional furnishings. There's a very large garden at the back, which is unusually accessed up a flight of stairs from the main pub. A cracking pub well worth a visit.

On 16th September 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2480 recommendations about 2401 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Black Horse

Small traditional pub away from the town centre & across the ring road.

Friendly, needs a little TLC, but nicely unspoilt, wood tables & some soft black chairs. Beer quality was exceptional and worth an extra mark.

On 2nd August 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1168 recommendations about 1145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Black Horse

This is an old Greene King house that I assume from the beer selection is now entirely free of tie. It is situated to the South West of the busy A414 dual carriageway down a very pleasant side street. Inside the bar faces you as you enter and there is a highly obtrusive TV screen on the left past which is a separate room with a dart board that was completely obstructed by tables and chairs.
The interior is clean, functional and unpretentious with a hard wearing carpet rather than trendy wooden floorboards.
On the bar were Buntingford Polar Star, Silent Night & Columbus, Tring Redshank & Kingbird and the less local Milk Street Funky Monkey. I went for the Polar Star (£3.60) which was a hoppy pale ale in excellent condition.
On the day this was the best of the four Hertford pubs visited even though I failed to find out about the 20P CAMRA discount in advance.

On 28th December 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2119 recommendations about 2114 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Black Horse

Update: Was back in Hertford for the bank holiday weekend and paid another visit as I also had picked up on the fact that the Black horse is now under new ownership and turned into a Free House after being bought out from the GK tie.
Now a much better beer choice as described by Mr fastard and although GK IPA is still on due to continuing popularity the new owner explained that they have had about 80 guest ales during the first six months since September.
So very happy to report that The Black Horse is back to being worth circumnavigating the clumsy Hertford ring road for and to upgrade my review a notch.

May 2011: I used to frequent the Black Horse in my student days in the late 70’s when visiting the nearby Balls Park annex of what was then Hatfield Poly. In those days it was one of the few Hertford establishments serving real ale in what was otherwise a sea of Keg.
So when cycling past it yesterday I had to revisit for old times’ sake. It may no longer be the Real Ale beacon it once was as GK Ales are hardly the most inspiring, but I found it still to be a comfortable, if smallish multi room pub and my pint of IPA was perfectly fine.
As mentioned below it is handy for Hertford Football ground, but is also on the route of the Cole Green Way disused railway path from Ware to WGC. So if your cycling or walking this route you could do a lot worse than stopping for a quick one before you leave Hertford, especially in Summer when the secluded garden out the back is a great place for a quiet pint.

On 12th April 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1577 recommendations about 1528 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Black Horse

ORIGINAL REVIEW Feb 2010.
This is a Greene King tied house with four handpumps dispensing Abbott,GK IPA ,Old Trip and a "guest" which is normally a seasonal GK ale ,Flanker's Tackle was still settling and unavailable on my visit.The ale is well kept but unfortunately GK beers are often uninspiring and there is nothing the tenant can do about that.The pub also suffers from being cut off from the town by the dual carriageway A414 but its position in the middle of West Street surrounded by many listed Georgian buildings is still attractive .The pub itself is small and cosy with a low ceiling and a traditional feel.To the left of the front door is a dart board and in the main bar there is Sky Sports TV,one of the few pubs in Hertford to screen live sport and a major draw.Food is available at lunchtime and at the weekend ,and the new tenants are making a big effort to create a community atmosphere.The pub is also the closest to Hertford Town FC and the loyal diehards use this place before and after matches.At times this pub can be very quiet and although it will never compete with the free houses in town in terms of ale ,it does deserve to suceed as a genuine local.

UPDATE
Although the fabric of the pub has changed little,thankfully the new owners are free from the Greene King tie which means a much more respectable range of real ale is now available.On my recent trip that meant Harviestoun Haggis Hunter (£3.40),Tring Sidepocket,Fullers Seafarer and Exmoor Dark.Every ale supped by my group was in good nick and it would be fitting if the local CAMRA branch put this forward for the next GBG.
There is a new carpet,the fireplace to the left of the bar was glowing and welcoming on a wet night and there are now a few tables in the dart board section,but not hindering play.Lunchtime food from burgers with all the trimmings at £7 to cheaper sandwiches,jackets and the like.
With the more adventurous ale policy,this pub should be included on any pub crawl of the town,it's a genuine drinkers establishment.

On 2nd February 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1911 recommendations about 1911 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Black Horse

When I walked in here the governor was polishing the pumps on the bar and who I think is his wife made me feel very welcome even though I was the only person in the pub at 22:00. It is Greene King, but there was a guest and I don't really care as I was drinking Guinness and I was glad to find a pub in Hertford that didn't have the McMullen mark stamped on it.

I spotted a plasma screen that was off due to no worthwhile sport being shown on Sky and there is also a dartboard which I gleaned must be used regularly after spotting all of the events advertised on the A-board outside.

I think that the management of this pub are hospitable and are making an effort, so if the blinkered few out there that can't see past the Greene King badge were to open their eyes they may just enjoy this pub.

On 16th October 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3371 recommendations about 3351 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris Ford left this review about Black Horse

Under the new management of Chris and Kim since July 2008 the pub is once again thriving. Following a complete redecoration and new carpets throughout, the introduction of an ever changing value for money menu, and the opportunity to dine "al fresco" in one of Hertfords largest and best kept pub gardens, this venue is going from strength to strength!
Full SKY and SETANTA sports now available, though not intrusive to normal pub life, and a high standard of well kept beers and lagers, with regular changes of GK seasonal and guest ales. A great little neighborhood pub for grown ups of all ages.

On 10th March 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Black Horse

Nice old building with timber ceiling beams, three connecting rooms from the main bar area. Split from the town by the terribly planned through road. Unfortunately a GK house serving IPA and Abbot, Old Trip, plus Bury St Edmunds Westgate Brewery advertised "Bonkers Conkers".....I know not this brewery or its beers....on research it seems the brewery shares GK's address. Just a feeling the way it was presented as purporting to be a guest is typical GK shennanigans. More punters outside smoking than in, including possibly the landlord, as the "Thanks Lads" doesn't usually come from the pavement outside.

On 14th September 2008 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1677 recommendations about 1654 pubs]