User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Guess who I met today? with bcfczuluarmy on the Pub Forum

Ye Olde Mitre Inne, High Barnet, Barnet

58 High Street
Barnet
EN5 5SJ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Ye Olde Mitre Inne

A wonderful old pub with a number of inter-connecting areas gently descending through several levels until you reach the small garden to the rear. There is a nice mix of wood,stone,brick and plaster throughout.The beer selection was good on my visit,T.T Landlord and Boltmaker, Deuchars IPA, Moor Raw,Adnams Southwold,Dark Star Hophead,Greene King Abbot and Burning Sky Aurora which was in top condition. There was also a nod to the future with a couple of craft taps as well as bottles and cans. A great pub.

On 31st October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1295 recommendations about 1282 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Ye Olde Mitre Inne

This pub is thankfully unchanged since the previous reviewer's visit a couple of years ago. It's a veritable TARDIS of a pub, which stretches back from the old bar area at the front, back through rooms and corridors to the old stables from its coaching inn days which have been brought into pub use. There's a garden at the back, which can be something of a sun trap when the weather's right. The front bar's the most interesting spot in my view, with the leaded glass panel above the servery; wood panelled walls, and even a 40-year old fruit machine of the one-armed bandit variety.

There were seven ales one, with a couple of handpumps unused. I didn't make a complete note of the beers, but I had something light and hoppy from Bedlam Brewery, and I also recall seeing Spitfire, Landlord, Deuchars and beers from Adnam's and Jaipur breweries.

This pub has good beer, is very comfortable with plenty of historic pub atmosphere. That works for me. A winner in my book.

On 1st October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2547 recommendations about 2465 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Ye Olde Mitre Inne

Certainly lives up to the ‘Olde’ part of its name, this is a very aged former coaching inn with oodles of character. Two rooms back-to-back, slowly descending through to a pretty enclosed rear garden with plenty of flora and fauna. The main front bar is quite light, and the centrepiece here is the magnificent stained and leaded glass bar upper containing the pub’s name. The rear is darker (and deliberately dimly-lit), with low beamed ceilings, wooden posts, wonky walls, exposed brick and a nice fireplace. Perhaps one downside here was the sheer amount of chairs and tables being crammed into the space, ease of access not good. Plenty of ales on; Brass Castle Northern (diacetyl tasting, brewer not publican I suspect), Left Hand Giant (good), Anarchy Blonde Star (good) Tim Taylor Landlord and Adnams Bitter. Downsides were a grumpy barmaid and grubby glasses, which makes me think that there’s an element of coasting going on and actually gave me an acute sense of disappointment – why mess up two basic things in a such a rich and magnificent setting? There was no sign of the guv’nor, which perhaps explains things a bit. Either way, this one demands a visit for the interior on its own but the service we received suppresses the mark from me by at least a point.

On 24th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Ye Olde Mitre Inne

Lovely old low ceilinged lL shaped pub with about 8 handpumps.Friendly staff and seems to be a locals pub.I tried the Tring -ridgeway and the Slaters -western apa which were both good.Good range of beers.

On 20th December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 913 recommendations about 901 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Ye Olde Mitre Inne

A charming coaching inn dating from 1636, I've only been here once about five years ago; a lovely venue. Apparently the landlord won't tolerate swearing or boorish behaviour which is fine by me - if only more landlords were like this (take note The Albert, NW1).

I can't see myself returning for the simple reason that I live nowhere near here, but if in Barnet...

On 7th April 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 931 recommendations about 918 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Ye Olde Mitre Inne

This is clearly a genuine old pub with a small room at the front and a larger area over to the right.
There were eight beers available on my Friday lunchtime visit, Adnam's Bitter and Ghost Ship, Shepherd Neame Whitstable Bay Pale, Red Squirrel Red Dawn Mild, Castle Rock Harvest Pale, Brentwood IPA, GK Abbot and Black Sheep Bitter. I went for the Castle Rock Harvest Pale which was in very good nick but not a very exciting beer. I may have just been unlucky, but the beer selection seemed a bit unadventurous as all the beers apart from Abbot and Ghost ship were around 4% ABV or less. I know for a fact that Brentwood brewery produce a lot more interesting beers than their IPA. Maybe the locals here only go for safe low ABV beers.
Prices ranged from £3.20 to £3.50.
Despite my reservations it's a great old pub and well worth a look.

On 9th March 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alesonly . left this review about Ye Olde Mitre Inne

This is the First Pub we started our Barnet crawl in last night and I would say from previous crawls its one of the best Ale houses in Barnet. They always try to have Five Real Ales on during weekdays and Six at weekends and there always changing so I wont bother naming what was on Tap only to say the Three I tried were all in Excellent condition. This is a very nice original old Pub not spoiled by modernization. There is plenty of nice little corners to sit in and always a very friendly welcome from the staff and other customers. I would say if your in Barnet this is a must visit Pub just for the Ale Quality & the history of the building. Its Now even better with extension at rear into the old barn which can be accessed directly though Pub giving much more drinking and eating room as well as the side room which used to be the Passage/alleyway on the left is also now enclosed and heated creating more drinking room. Excellent work.

On 24th June 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 132 recommendations about 105 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Ye Olde Mitre Inne

Another visit to this fine pub the other evening. Still remains the best pub in Barnet and along with Ye olde Monken Holt around the corner, continue to be the only reasons to venture into High Barnet for a beer.
This fine old historic coaching inn has been well described by previous reviewers so just to say all six Ales on the pumps on this Saturday evening and the ones we tried were in excellent condition.
These included Timothy Taylor Landlord, Black Sheep Bitter and Brains Reverend James. There was one of the Redemption beers on again but it wasn’t the Urban Dusk, but cannot remember which one.
Good crowd in and a very pleasant atmosphere.
As previously suggested , this is a must do pub when in the High Barnet area.

On 11th October 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Ye Olde Mitre Inn

The best of the pubs I visited in Barnet by a distance, The Mitre is a genuinely historic old coaching inn with low beamed ceilings, exposed brickwork, beams and posts. The front bar had a little gaggle of friendly drinkers gathered around the bar counter, many keen to make suggestions regarding the beer selection. There were five on on Monday, I understand they gear up to six at weekends. Adnams Bitter, Timothy Taylor Landlord, Black Sheep Bitter, Brains Reverend James and Redemption Urban Dusk. I fancied the Redemption but was wary in case it was a stout or similar (it wasn't) but the barman cheerfully offered me a shot glass taster. There is a simple pricing structure, up to 3.9% £3.05, 3.9-4.9% £3.20 and £3.30 for those of around 5%. Beers can be bought in thirds. You need to mind your head as you step down from the front to the side passage where there is a tiled fireplace and some small bench seats along a side wall. The pub opens out more down a few steps to the rear, this is where the majority of the seating is. Quiet music was playing, TV is limited to the separate coverted stable bar to the back. Smokers and outdoor drinkers are catered for in the covered "Coachway Lounge" which is the old coach and horses drive through.
Good honest food served with sausages a speciality, the "guest sausage" was Bolognese, served with mash or chips and gravy, £9.95.
Local CAMRA POTY 2011, this is a must do if in Barnet.

On 24th April 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


michael thompson left this review about Ye Olde Mitre Inn

Great well kept beer range as well as cider (old rosie seems the norm), well worth a visit.

On 21st March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 8 recommendations about 8 pubs]

Page: 1 2