User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Euros Prediction League with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Westgate, Winchester

2 Romsey Road
Winchester
SO23 8TP

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Westgate

Whilst the hotel part of this building has re-opened, the bar/restaurant is still closed following lockdown.

On 4th August 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 434 recommendations about 434 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Westgate

Now refurbed ,the interior room shape reflects the curved exterior as does the bar,stripped wood flooring and mixed seating, high and low including some banquet seating along with functional tables and chairs with dining in mind.Five handpumps with three beers on,two from West Berks,Mr Swift's Pale and Good Old Boy along with XT 1 Blonde which was in average drinkable condition,the Good Old Boy was changed during my visit for Flack Manor Flack Catcher.It's an OK pub as was the Roast Pork I indulged in to bolster myself for the rest of the afternoons beery exploits.

On 21st February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1357 recommendations about 1343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Westgate

There’s been a modern upgrade in here since my last visit though the layout remains the same. Duck egg wood panelling, bare brick walls, rough pine surfaces and stripped wood flooring is now the order of the day. Papers available. Five pumps with four ales on: Flacks Double Drop (not brilliant), Animal Pacific, Flowerpots Bitter, Red Cat Porter (flat). Shame the beer wasn't up to much as it looked very promising. 5.5

July 2011
Our revisit found a fresh coat of paint and three ales (Jennings Cumberland, Ringwood 49er and Best Bitter) though annoyingly with sparklers used on the southern ones, which knocked the stuffing out of mine. The same genial landlord was still in situ, which was good to see. PSM does a good job of describing the interior, so I’ll just mention the raised area to the rear, military prints and etched windows. Still a decent stop for a swift one before the train. Rated 6.5

July 2007
Enjoyable hostelry, with a neat, bright interior from the large windows (some nice glasswork), contrasting with darker wood by the bar. Three ales on the go from the Marstons stable - 2 Jennings and a Banks, my Honey Bole was in good form. There was a decent selection of music and the most genial landlord in town to greet us. Quizzer was a bit harsh though. Two minutes walk to the train station and worth a stop on this evidence. Rated 7

On 1st February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Westgate Inn

Closed yesterday and looks to be in the middle of a refurb, all the fixtures and signage remain intact. I haven't formally closed it on here as it looks like it will reopen and there is no way of knowing when another PG reviewer may pass by.

On 17th April 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Westgate Inn

Last pub on way up the hill to the station.

Nice curved bar inside. A very good pint of Itchen Brewery Gold.

Recommended.

On 5th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 703 recommendations about 697 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Westgate Hotel

Quite an interesting building, with a rounded facade and a reversed 'J'-shaped interior on two levels. Semi-modern decor, with several items of interest of you look about. B&B accommodation available. Two banks of three handpumps on different parts of the counter, offering - as a Marstons house - Ringwood BB (£3.30, but not in the finest condition), 49er and Cumberland. (NB - Review dates from August 2012.)

On 10th February 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6214 recommendations about 6214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Westgate Hotel

This fairly large street corner pub has been decorated in a rather bland gastro pub style, with lots of pastel coloured walls and dark wood flooring. As such, the place loses a bit of its character, as it clearly has some interesting old features - most notably the large windows which bear the pub's name. The main bar follows the curve of the building and is furnished with banquette seating, a few comfy chairs and a leather sofa. The walls are decorated with a mixture of military prints and rugby photographs, with a framed rugby shirt also apparent on one wall. There is also a painting showing a scene from the pub which is hung at roughly the position which the artist would have stood to capture the scene. There is a second room to the left of the bar which is in a raised area and has tables set up for diners although there was no-one eating when we visited.
There were three ales on the four handpulls - Ringwood Forty Niner and Best and Jennings Cumberland. I gave the Jennings a try and thought it was in pretty good shape. The barman seemed very friendly and chatted to us for a while and overall I got the feeling that this is the sort of place that tries to make everyone feel welcome.
I thought this was a nice enough pub with decent beer and friendly staff, but the place felt a little bit too bland to make it truly memorable.

On 18th July 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about Westgate Hotel

Alright pub but lacks a bit of atmosphere.

On 22nd January 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Westgate Hotel

Corner pub opposite the ancient Westgate and Winchester Castle. Only a few suits in the smallish semicircular bar when I was there, possibly lawyers who had been working late at the nearby Crown Court, no sign of their clients though. The main bar is decorated in traditional but basic style, brown wood, tatty tables, hints of Victorian splendour and military prints reflecting Winchester's relationship with the Rifle Brigade and the Royal Hampshire Regiment. There is a second large room of raised seating with wild west style bannisters which may have been an Indian restaurant at one time. Mainstream ales and kegs, other than my pint of Banks's Original which was drinkable but not outstanding only Staropreman registered on my conciousness.

On 23rd November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]