User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 17th November 2019) with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

St James Tavern, Winchester

3 Romsey Road
Winchester
SO22 5BE
Phone: 01962861288

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about St James Tavern

A long narrow split level bar with a nice traditional feel, there were four Wadsworth beers on plus a guest of Merrie City Atlantic Hop as well as Old Rosie Cider,quite a nice pub, well worthy of a visit.

On 21st March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1295 recommendations about 1282 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about St James Tavern

Small wedge of a pub, a little trendy but nicley laid out, chunky pine tables, small bar and generally a nice feel. There is a small sun trap back yard. Its away from the main tourist area.

4 real ales from Wadworths kept well.

On 25th June 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1267 recommendations about 1244 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about St James Tavern

This is an unusual wedge shaped pub a short walk from the town centre. The interior has plenty of wood panelling, a wooden floor and pine furniture, with the top half of the walls painted in dark colour which, combined with the muted lighting and limited natural light, created quite a nice cosy ambiance. There are various split level areas within the pub, including what appeared to be a dining area to the right. There is plenty of seating throughout the pub and at the rear there is a pebble garden with a few more seats. Music was playing unobtrusively in the background and I spotted a rather incongruous bass guitar hanging above the main door.
This is a Wadworth house, so their beers dominated the pumps. The selection on our visit was 6X, Bishop's Tipple, Henry's IPA and Horizon with Pedigree as a guest option. I gave the IPA a try which was well kept, if not the most exciting beer I've ever had.
This initially struck me as being a foody place, but once we settled down with our drinks it grew on me and I left feeling that the place would definitely be worthy of a repeat visit.

On 18th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2347 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about St James Tavern

A small, wood-clad, wedge-shaped Wadworth house tucked away from the direct centre of town, a few hundred yards up a deceptively steep hill. Five ales on tap, four Wadworth beers and a guest (Butcombe and Pedigree sampled here in the past, quality usually decent). The interior is over two little levels with a smattering of wood panelling and stripped floors. Worth the short (if stiff) walk for a quick half from the city centre if you like Waddies fayre. Does live music in the evenings and food (big on burgers).

On 15th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about St James Tavern

Old style pub with at least 4 real ales on. Pretty quiet in daytime so best not to make too much noise.

On 22nd January 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about St James Tavern

Up a few steps into an open plan space, but still two distinct areas. Ahead is the bar and a wedge shaped room with sanded floors and tables, bottles on a high shelf, beer mats above the bar. To the right, up a few more steps is a carpetted area with more traditional seating in fours, more suited to dining. There are fireplaces in both sections.
5 handpumps, Wadworths JCB, Henrys Original IPA, Butcombe Bitter, with two reversed, 6X and Bishop's Tipple.
An extensive food menu offers 13 varieties of burger amongst other options. The pub is a music venue with a number of forthcoming bands advertised and has a bit of a younger vibe but was relaxed and laid back on my afternoon visit.

On 10th February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about St James Tavern

Busy, small pub with a wine bar like atmosphere, in a pleasant panelled and stripped pine interior. Wadworths beers plus a guest, Butcombe in this case, in good condition but too chilled. The service was a bit slow and a bit offhand, the bar maid obviously more interested in her social life with the young guys at the other end of the bar, oh well such is life. Mainly a younger customer base with a few wrinklies to leaven the mix. Live music is a regular feature and the burgers are well regarded.

On 23rd November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2133 recommendations about 1981 pubs]