User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Old Vine, Winchester

8 Great Minster Street
Winchester
SO23 9HA
Phone: 01962854616

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Old Vine

Attractive upmarket pub, restaurant and hotel right by the cathedral green. Comfortably furnished and traditionally decorated bar and smaller rear dining room. Four real ales on handpump: the regular Landlord plus Ringwood Razorback, Salopian Oracle and something local from Itchen Valley behind a stand-in paper 'clip'(£4.00, but in excellent shape).

On 2nd December 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Old Vine

As noted below this is very much a food orientated pub.
The four beers available were Why Not Wally's Revenge, Alfred's Saxon Bronze, Long Man Long Blonde and Landlord. I went for the Long Blonde (£3.90) which although only a cooking beer was very tasty and refreshing but like the previous two pubs visited expensive.
Despite the emphasis on food here I preferred it to some of the other Winchester pubs visited.

On 17th October 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Old Vine

A warm, comfortable and welcoming pub in the shadow of Winchester Cathedral, very busy on Saturday evening, I found a perch at the bar on a stool. Two main areas, the pub bit is slightly L-shaped and traditional but with a small more modern and unusual side room towards the rear, a much larger side room to the front of the pub is separated by a heavy curtain and seems to be the dining room. On looking in I got the "are you alright there?" crap from someone so I patted myself down and said "Yes, I think so". That shut her up.
The bar area has squares of material on the walls, an exposed brick fireplace, regular small tables, lots of people eating. On the bar, under glass, there were home made sausage rolls but at £3.95 a pop, hmmm.
Good beer, four on, Andwell Resolute, Alfred's Brewery Saxon Bronze, Butcombe Bitter, Taylor's Landlord. The TTL was sparlklered, the others not, to me, that shows an attention to detail. A good pub amongst good pubs in Winchester, very near the also excellent Eclipse. Accommodation available.

On 17th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Old Vine

best pint of the night - an excellent Otter.

I wanted to eat here again, but came in at 5:30pm. They change to the evening menu at 6:30pm, but I had a train to catch.

Shame - as I had a great meal here last time.

I think I may have even been at the same table.

On 5th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 697 recommendations about 691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Old Vine

A small classy gastro pub well described below,visited briefly for a pre- beer festival drink, the four beers on were Purity Mad Goose, Botley- Mill, Alfreds Saxon Bronze and Long Man APA, a nice selection I thought and my APA was in good nick,worth popping in for a pint and I imagine the food would be good too.

On 21st March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1356 recommendations about 1342 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Old Vine

Again, there are some thorough and accurate reviews below which I'll try not to replicate.
The appeal of the Old Vine is instant as an attractive building overlooking the cathedral close.
Inside you have a dedicated restaurant behind a heavy velvet curtain to the left and you walk into the bar, which is where we based ourselves. As others have highlighted it's furnished in contemporary fashion with soft brown seats and odd squares of textiles on the walls amongst the traditional fabric of the building with wooden floors and beams. It's very much the metropolitan gastro bar.
But don't let all this modernism put you off. The welcome is warm and the bar staff are efficient and friendly.
We visited at lunchtime so inevitably many were taking advantage of the well thought out menu. Lunchtimes see a selection of imaginative smaller dishes available as well as sandwiches. Our brie and grape sandwich and chorizo, pepper and potatoes went down very well and were each around the fiver mark.
The real highlight here though has to be the beer. The four handumps had on: Hogs Back TEA, Flowerpots Perridge Ale, Ringwood Best and Hop Back Lightening. An interesting selection of fairly local beers and everything I went for in very good nick.
A really nice spot to enjoy a decent pint and I'll certainly be back if in Winchester.

On 12th November 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Old Vine

This very smart Gastro pub has been well described by previous reviewers so nothing to add in that respect, except to say that it continues as a very popular eating place in the centre of Winchester. So much so that it was fully booked over the weekend we visited and we were unable to use it for an evening meal.
Did use it for a pint in the right hand bar section though as the beer choice was decent and the bar section is fairly comfortable. Ringwood Bitter, Flacks double Drop, Skinners Cornish Knocker and Brakespears Gold were on for our visit and the couple we tried were well kept.

On 9th May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Old Vine

Opposite the cathedral gardens in a quiet spot off the High Street. Its a very pleasant pub, beams, brick, nicely laid out and Olde Worlde charm, with a central bar.

Its expensive due to its location but you do get quality (at least for the beer - didn't try the food), so you don't mind the cost so much.

Beer is served in the Southern style (no head) and/but is very good and there is a choice of 4 locally sourced ales. There is a terrace at the rear and some small table on the quiet street at the front of the pub. A bit twee but altogether a fine place. Appropriately there is an old vine growing on the outside of the building.

On 25th June 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


. Wittenden left this review about The Old Vine

Architectural details having been addressed by an earlier contributor, suffice it to say that the pub presents a picturesque façade to the Cathedral Green:eponymous vine and a Georgian pillared doorway. Through the door, the pub divides:to the left, behind a tempting heavy curtain, lies a comfortable looking dining room, to the right, a long and narrow bar with comfy seating. Behind, up some steps are more tables and chairs and I think a terrace.Flagstone floors, oak beams coupled with a selection of contemporary artworks contrive to create a slightly Central European bohemian air.
Released from the Christmas Market on a bright and cold December Saturday late afternoon, I sat in here with my hat, enjoying an excellent pint of Flowerpots Cheriton Porter. Indeed, it was so good, I fetched the ladies, diverting them from the Cathedral Tea Rooms, so I could have another. Other real ales were Ringwood Best, Tim Taylor Landlord, and Adnams’ Lighthouse.
To a terminal nostalgic, there is something magically English about a good pub in a Cathedral Close, indeed something fairly unusual,as I cannot think of many others. Good pub.

On 31st December 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 243 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BARRY TAYLOR left this review about The Old Vine

First the architecture bit. 18th century, 2 storeys. Red brick. Old tile roof . with 5 contemporary sash windows in moulded frames on 1st floor. Good doorcase with brackets and moulded open dentil pediment. The 19th century public house frontage has Gothic fenestration. Panelled door with fanlight. Two dormers. Rearwing with lattice casements in gable. OK! It looks great and it's a grade 2 listed building across from the Cathedral Green.

Now lets go inside! It's that 'Gastropub' thing but done in a good way. Don't be afraid! It's split into well defined areas with the restaurant (you'll need to book) to the left as you enter and the bar area to the right with no reservations for the bar or patio, where seating is available on a first come, first served basis only. Sandwich menu (available lunchtimes only. Please note that sandwiches are only available in the bar and on the terrace, and are not available in the restaurant)
Sandwiches on thick-cut granary or white bread, served with a salad garnish. Tuna with chive mayonnaise & salad £4.95 - Warm French brie & grape £5.50 - Premium Hampshire pork sausages, red onion relish £5.75 - Falafel with chickpea houmous, roasted sweet peppers, fresh coriander & salad in a flour tortilla £5.50 - Thinly sliced Hampshire-cured ham, emmental cheese & tomato £5.75 - Cod fillet fish finger sandwich with home-made tartare sauce, sliced tomato and little gem lettuce, garnish of fries £5.50 - Traditional mature Welsh cheddar ploughman’s £5.95 V
Coronation chicken: free-range English chicken in a creamy curry-spiced mayo, mango & sultana dressing £5.75
Pub classics (available lunchtimes only; bar, restaurant and terrace) - Premium Hampshire pork sausages & creamy mashed potato, rich onion gravy £9.50 - Crispy wholetail scampi in breadcrumbs, fries and salad £10.50 - Thickly sliced Hampshire-cured ham, two free-range fried eggs, fries and side salad £11.50 - Home-made pie of the day, mashed potatoes and peas £10.90. Sorry if that's too much detail but it is a 'Gastropub'.

It was the first pub in Winchester to phase out smoking (in March 2005), and now they're delighted to offer non-smoking customers an outdoor glazed space that's 100% smoke-free.

Their policy on children is: "CHILDREN AT LUNCHTIME: Well-behaved children of six and over are welcome in the bar and restaurant at lunchtime, provided they are accompanied by an adult – however, please remember that the Old Vine is first and foremost a space for adults to relax in. We're sorry, but we cannot accommodate pushchairs inside the building – however, pushchairs and kids under six may be accommodated on the patio, weather permitting. CHILDREN IN THE EVENING: Children are not allowed in the bar past 6pm – however, children of eight years and over may eat in the restaurant in the evening, provided they are accompanied by an adult.

Very attractive bar staff (both men and women) who served up some cracking pints. Itchen Valley, Hambledon Bitter 4.0% and Flack Manor Romsey, Flack's Double 3.7% on handpump.

It was great sitting at the bar on our Winchester crawl and watching the clientele with their Apple lap tops in the comfy Chesterfield's and although this is not really my sort of pub it's all done so very well done that I must give it a good 7.

On 25th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 42 recommendations about 35 pubs]

Page: 1 2