User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 7th August 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Albion, Winchester

2 Stockbridge Road
Winchester
SO23 7BZ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Albion

Distinctive corner pub near the station, just begging you to go inside and take a look. Once done, you find an angled L-shape bar with simple furniture and unfussy decoration. Four Flower Pots beers available on the handpumps: Pots Bitter, Goodens Gold, Perridge Pale (£3.60, and very good) and the strong IPA.

On 27th July 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


E TA left this review about The Albion

As described by others, this superb town boozer is run and stocked by Flowerpots Brewery. Consequently all the ales are theirs,but that's no bad thing. Welcoming staff and a relaxed atmosphere made for a great visit. My pint of Bitter was in perfect condition. I'd be very happy to come back any time, and I certainly agree with BF, below, that it's the perfect place to start or end a crawl.

On 26th July 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2905 recommendations about 2872 pubs]


Tris C left this review about The Albion

This pub was taken over by Flower Pots brewery in 2015 and aside from the large spray of hop bines, the interior is extremely basic and spartan but comfortable enough, with four ales, my half of Perridge Pale being pleasant enough and laughably cheap at just £1.80, comfortably the cheapest drink of the day, enjoyed in the surroundings of an enthusiastic and lively mixed local crowd.
Not only is this pub top of the Winchester pub list, it’s also the nearest pub to the station, so makes a great place to start or end a crawl.

On 17th July 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1532 recommendations about 1510 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Albion

Very close to the southbound side of the station,this corner pub is a small ,earthy boozer.There is an island bar,furniture around the periphery with a V shaped interior ,and a few bar stools.There was a friendly welcome and good drinking atmosphere,there are no flatscreens or machines and muted muzak.
The ale range was all from Flower Pots namely Bitter,Perridge Pale,Spring Loaded and Goodens Gold (NBSS 4).Home made pork pies are available and a few keg taps were offering Guiness and Continental lagers.
Great place to start or finish a crawl (or maybe both !) I really enjoyed my trip and can't wait to return.

On 2nd May 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2383 recommendations about 2383 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Albion

Excellent no-frills local serving good beer from Flowerpots and Alfred's. A V-shaped pub on the crossroads just down from the station with plain wooden floors and furnishings and few distractions. Food is limited to home-made pies and scotch eggs.

On 6th May 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2659 recommendations about 2602 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Albion

Update
The French cafe feel is no longer evident,it is though a solid modern but proper pub,the Goodens Gold is still good.
March 2015
A corner pub close to the train station, it appears to have had a recent makeover and the Red and Cream colour scheme inside made me think it had a French cafe feel,four pumps on the bar with three on the go, all from Flowerpots Brewery, my pint of Gooden's Gold was indeed good as gold. Well worth calling in whether coming from or going to the station.

On 22nd February 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1582 recommendations about 1563 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Albion

As noted below, this has been taken over by the Flowerpots brewery of Cheriton, so I was keen to snaffle a couple in here. The interior has been stripped back a bit and is now a little more alehouse in style (if the alehouse in question had had its interior design sourced from John Lewis) – stripped floorboards and a pleasing red colour scheme. An inverse TARDIS of a building, a much smaller bar footprint than you’d expect. A number of ales on from Flowerpots, I tried the Perridge (excellent) and the Porter (a little flat). Worth mentioning the prices too – cheap as chips for Winchester, well-under £3.50. Will be back here again sooner rather than later. Score upped by a point.

July 2007
Small but enjoyable stop-off near the station. Looks a little rough from the outside but don't be put off - this was one of the better pubs on our crawl on Saturday. A lively evening atmosphere with a good selection of ales (my Gooden's Gold was very well served) made for an enjoyable half hour. Seems to be big on the jazz here as well – take your pick on that one, I suppose. Worth factoring in a slow one here before your train. Rated 7

On 15th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4422 recommendations about 4408 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Albion

My old Hampshire beer guide reveals that this small wedge shaped pub was probably once a Watney's pub. It's now run by the Flowerpots brewery who seem to be a lot bigger than the brew pub at Cheriton last time I was in the area. It's a basic wooden floored room which on my early Thursday afternoon visit had a mix of suits from Winchester's offices and locals.
The four hand pumps had Flowerpots Hopton Pale, Goodens Gold & Bitter and Dark Star Hophead. I went for the Goodens Gold (£3.20) which was excellent.
This one and the Spoons were the only pubs of the five visited in Winchester that I liked.

On 17th October 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Albion

The pub has had a spruce up since my last visit back in 2009. The layout is the same but there is now a bright and airy feel with red lower wainscoting and cream upper walls, hops are wound around the beams. The pub now sells beers from Flowerpot, Bitter, Perridge Pale, the sublime Gooden's Gold plus Spring Loaded yesterday. We visited at lunch and again early evening, beers were spot on and the pub lively and friendly. A shelf above the bar contains stacks of beer bottles. Score upped accordingly.

On 17th April 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1695 recommendations about 1669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BRUMMIE STEVE left this review about The Albion

I went The Albion on a Saturday night, after stopping off at Winchester for a few drinks
on my way home to Littlehampton, this was my last pub before catching the train, the pub
is only a few minutes walk from the station. I did'nt have long but found the beer very
good, it was the first time I'd sampled Flower Pots beers, I also liked the layout of the pub, it was by far the best pub I'd visited in Winchester and I would certainly go back.

On 8th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 39 recommendations about 39 pubs]

Page: 1 2