User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 13th October 2019) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Bird in Hand, Waterlooville

269 Lovedean Lane
Lovedean
Postal town: Waterlooville
PO8 9RX
Phone: 02392591055

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Bird in Hand

A large roadside place, majoring on middle class diners but still welcoming to drinkers. A pretty black and white Tudor-esque exterior. Semi-modern inside but retains some character over the split-level interior with wood, exposed brick and some discrete seating areas, all comfortably furnished. Dog friendly. Impressive manicured beer garden. Surprised to see four pumps, even more surprised to see an eclectic selection with a heavy local slant - Irving Frigate (good) Arundel Stronghold (excellent), Ringwood Best and Bowman Wallops Wood. A quiet vibe inside despite a few customers. Decent place and worth trying, I would have happily stayed for another if time was on my side.

On 11th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3912 recommendations about 3900 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about The Bird In Hand

Another refresh up date, no big changes, now has four draught beers on hand pull, staff still friendly & helpful, food and beer all good, worth dropping in if in area, or if looking for posh pub nosh make a special trip

On 15th April 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about The Bird In Hand

Just to keep it current, no big changes, still 3 beers on hand pull, still same friendly staff & still popular place for food, very much a destination pub, there is no public transport, so walk, car or taxi. Due to location & users it is chav free

On 22nd December 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about The Bird In Hand

Just a fresh update to keep it current. No big changes, still very much fooddie pub but with 3 local beers on handpull

I like it better every time I go back

On 30th December 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about The Bird In Hand

Update 01 Jan 2010, changed my rating to 8 stars [was 5]

Now under new ownership by same people who run The Hurdles at Droxford. The place has had a refurb, but keeps the J shaped single bar layout, with large part given over to dining area. Lower area has open central fire, some semi secluded alcoves with armchairs, a few bar stools for those who like sitting at bar

NO TV, NO pool, very much a country pub for discerning drinkers & diners

3 real ales, Havant Finished, which is very local micro brewery http://www.quaffale.org.uk/php/brewery/1392, Bowman Wallops Wood, another fairly local brew, and Ringwood Best

I had Havant Finished, excellent ale

Food served is not standard pub grub, so no bangers & chips for a fiver, the menu & prices are viewable on their web site. Judging from our food I would say the standards are high

So, ignore all the bits below, since new owners I can thoroughly recommend this pub, both for beer & food, worth a trip

========================================
Went in Friday about 3.30, it was fairly quiet, but looked like a buffet was about to start

3 Bitters available, Flowers, HSB & Ringwood, I had the Flowers

There were 3 staff & 3 customers, two of whom had drinks, despite this service was slow so I waited

The beer was OK, service slow

Serves food, and has large car park and garden / play area

Other claim to fame is the FA Cup [won by Portsmouth FC in 1939] was kept here during the war after the Portsmouth blitz

Looks a nice country type pub, but could do better

Dec 2008 - Closed, owner bankrupt

Dec 2008 - Under new management, reopened at Christmas, same people have taken over the Green Dragon along the road, from talking to them I think the pubs will thrive

On 26th March 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]