User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with Brainypool on the Pub Forum

The Leopold, Southsea Town, Southsea

154 Albert Road
Southsea
PO4 0JT
Phone: 02392829748

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about The Leopold

A nice looking pub on the exterior, inside on my visit it was rammed to the rafters full of boisterous football watching blokes, I didn't see much of a beer range, only Doom Bar and Landlord, I may have missed some, It was uncomfortably busy so I decided to move on and leave it for a quieter time as time was short.

On 3rd November 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1257 recommendations about 1245 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about The Leopold

A POPULAR pub is due to reopen. .... the Southsea venue – which was crowned the best pub in the region by the Portsmouth and south-east branch of the Campaign for Real Ale (Camra) – is now due to reopen at midday tomorrow.
http://www.portsmouth.co.uk/business/award-winning-pub-the-leopold-in-southsea-is-to-reopen-1-7945005

On 4th May 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Leopold

Situated on one of the main roads through the middle of Southsea, this is a striking pub with a green tiled façade that is very impressive on approach. The interior doesn't quite live up to this initial promise, having been knocked through to form a single room that wraps around a centrally positioned servery. Seating has been arranged in groups around the perimeter of the room, mostly in the form of benches and standard chairs, although I did spot a couple of sofas to one side. The space to the rear of the bar looked to be the best place to settle down for a longer session, although there was also a pleasant looking area to the rear, from where you can access a garden which apparently contains a replica tardis. The room is part bare boarded and part carpeted and has mainly whitewashed walls or those of a similarly neutral shade, decorated with a mix of breweriana and sporting memorabilia, including some signed shirts. A pump clip display is also evident and a lot of wall space is taken up by countless posters for upcoming events in the pub and surrounding area. I noted some TV screens, but they were turned off throughout my visit, although it seems that certain sporting events are shown here.
For all of the understated interior décor, there is nothing understated about the beer range, which extends across a long run of handpulls at the corner of the servery. Options on this occasion were Vibrant Forest Mosaic and Black Forest, Dark Star Hophead and APA, Oakleaf Quercus Folium, Arundel Wild Heaven, Bowmans Wallops Wood, Triple fff Moondance, Twickenham Naked Ladies and something from Weltons. An excellent range and with a good selection of local brews as well. My pint was in tip-top condition and the barmaid was friendly enough.
I really liked the feel of this place, perhaps more so because of the excellent range of ales in top condition, but I think the place had more to it than that - a friendly, welcoming vibe and the impression that whole days could be lost in here. For me this is the best pub I've yet to encounter in the Portsmouth/Southsea area.

On 16th March 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2313 recommendations about 2313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Leopold

Another good couple of visits here in the interim - great atmosphere and great beer from local and micro brewers. Bouncers on the door on a Saturday night though - I suppose it is on the strip!

March 2014
The wonderfully preserved exterior green tiling of the defunct Portsmouth and Brighton United Breweries immediately draws the eye and it’s well-worth venturing in. A bit of an ale mecca here, I counted ten though my view of the bar was obscured by the vast amount of people crammed in to watch the Ireland v France rugby match unfold. I wasn’t able to note the beers on but it was certainly a fairly local slant with a large number of micros represented, plus a number of boxed ciders but again I didn’t get the opportunity to note who the producers were. My Arundel was in excellent shape, served in an oversized glass too. The bar was notably well-staffed which meant I was only waiting a few seconds to get served to despite the throng. Quite a small place with a fairy narrow and perhaps unassuming interior (though space was so confined I was unable to get a decent look round), with a small collection of pump clips lining the wall. A welcoming atmosphere and it felt like a nice place to be, with the sports crowd vociferous but self-effacing. Also interesting to observe that the majority appeared to be on the ale. Possibly the best pub of a long day in Pompey. Rated 9

On 21st February 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3904 recommendations about 3892 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Leopold

A Victorian high street pub with a well deserved reputation for superb ales. The building has, sadly, been knocked through to form a single L-shaped bar, which now has a mix of gopping carpet and modern wooden flooring. The bar is mostly full of the more mature element of Southsea society, reinforced by CAMRA and other beer lovers. A few normal people were also enjoying this excellent pub as their local. The odd idiot was also present, but that's normal for Southsea, and is actually quite encouraging as it means there is hope for them. The staff were knowledgable, friendly and engaging. Free wifi is also available. Ten ales on tap – I risked a pint of Bateman's Chocolate Biscuit Beer, which was actually ten times more heavenly than it sounds. An absence of noise pollution (no juke box or radio) enhances the experience. This is a truly excellent pub – possibly the best in Portsmouth, in my whatever-the-opposite-of-humble-is opinion. I can see no reason whatsoever not to come back here.

On 29th April 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2368 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Leopold Tavern

This pub certainly stands out from the crowd in more ways than one, externally the striking green tiling and signage from the former Portsmouth and Brighton United Breweries has been superbly preserved while once inside you are greeted by ten clipped and functioning handpumps standing proudly on the island bar. There is a distinct leaning towards local beer, and there were no mainstream regulars on sight at all on my recent visit. Two from Oakleaf, Whole Hearted and Nelson's Oak, three from Irving, Tin Fish, Type 42 and Iron Duke plus Triple fff Black IPA, Plain Ales Innocence, Dark Star American IPA, Stonehenge Pigswill and SVB Pioneer Stout. An excellent line up and a good mix of styles. Beers are changed immediately one runs out and the next ones on are reverse clipped behind the current "live" beer. Scores of pump clips line the walls around the bar. Additionally there were four boxes of ciders including a perry from Lilleys and Bee Sting.
The pub is knocked through but there is a distinct feel of separate areas, the side area behind the bar containing a dart board and a novel wall mounted scoreboard listing mens' and ladies' darts, football, rugby and golf. There are two framed cricket shirts mounted in here including one signed by Brian Lara. Décor includes some large framed old OS maps of Portsmouth and Southsea, a big B&W print of HMS Victory plus the usual local scenes of yesteryear. There is a shelf of board games, a TV was showing the horse racing and free WiFi is advertised. There is a garden/patio to the rear through a door but I didn't visit. Food is limited to traditional snacks and filled rolls, no poncey gastro fare here. Seating is mostly traditional but with two sofas, flooring part carpeted, part wooden. Live music and poker nights are advertised.
This is a cracking pub, a must do if in the area and worthy of the title "destination pub". With its superb beer range, friendly warm welcome and traditional feel I'll certainly be back, especially as my daughter has been clever enough to find this year's student house in the adjoining street, she'll be sick of the sight of me!

On 8th September 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1681 recommendations about 1658 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about Leopold Tavern

Awarded the 2010 Branch Pub of the Year award by the Portsmouth and S E Hampshire branch of the Campaign For Real Ale

On 24th July 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dan bert left this review about Leopold Tavern

A good looking pub from the outside; the inside has been refurbished but in a complimentary way.

As you enter the pub you are faced with a u-shaped bar in the middle. Real ales include offerings from the Oakleaf brewery from Gosport and the Irving brewery from Portsmouth. The pint of 'Type 42' I had was in fine condition.

The Leopold appears to attract a range of customers ranging from locals to 'beer tourists'. There are plenty of pubs in the Albert Road area, I consider this to be one of the best ones.

On 29th March 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 19 recommendations about 19 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about Leopold Tavern

Seems to be a popular "local", but this may have been because has two TVs, and was showing live footy, Pompey v Burnley during my visit

U shaped bar with 6 hand pull ales on offer, some from the Gosport based Oakleaf Brewery. I had a "Swift one" from the range, easy & pleasant drinking

No food, maybe a roll if lucky [I wasn't]. However you have a big decision to make here, if you want food then the Bold Forester over the road does meals, but sells only keg beer

Also had a list of "Guest wines" so seems to cater for all, in fact there were a few women drinking wine at the time of my visit

I would go back again without any qualms

On 12th December 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]