User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
BITE bites the dust???? with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

The King Street Tavern, Southsea

70 King Street
Southsea
PO5 4EH

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The King Street Tavern

A stunning looking pub with a fine example of Victorian exterior tiling on par with the nearby Eldon. This Wadworth house had eight handpumps with a choice of seven ales. Four from Wadworth and three guest, their guest beers were Upham Tipster, Sharps Coaster and Westgate Atlantic Hop. We went for the Upham Tipster and the Westgate Atlantic Hop, both of which were quite worthy of a refill. The two young bar staff were friendly and welcoming and had good knowledge of good traditional pubs in the local area.

On 1st April 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about The King Street Tavern

Moby below, may have to wait a while to try again

"TAVERN NOTICE
Dear customers & friends, after nearly nine memorable, sometimes challenging years it is with a heavy heart that I tell you all that my time as landlord of the Tavern must come to an end.
For the last few years it has been increasing difficult to continue to provide the level of customer care & service that I always aimed for. With this last year becoming the most challenging of all of them for various reasons.
I wish to thank you all for your support over the years & hope to come back (on the other side) of the bar soon!
So as from end of Friday night the fourth of March the Tavern will be temporarily be closed.
New Tenants are currently being considered & the Tavern will re-open after essential repairs & a general
re-decoration of the premises has taken place".

http://www.portsmouth.co.uk/news/people/pompey-pubs-we-have-lost-but-won-t-forget-1-7255291

in comments column

On 6th March 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The King Street Tavern

A nice looking pub from the outside, but unfortunately closed on Sunday afternoon so will have to wait to find out if its ok inside.

On 3rd March 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1356 recommendations about 1342 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The King Street Tavern

This Wadworths house is a Victorian back street corner pub with glazed tile frontage, the ground floor knocked through to form a single large bar and the original windows enlarged to make it light and airy inside. There is a wooden floor, and the décor is sobre, while there is a small paved garden at the back. The staff are a bit unreliable – the barmaid didn’t know what she was doing, while the chef had gone home early because they didn’t think anyone would want to eat that evening. The background music was mildly annoying, though the customers were reasonable and welcoming, if a bit loud. Two ales on draft – I had 6X which wasn’t on top form and was less enjoyable than it should have been. I would include in a crawl, but I don’t think I’d spend the whole evening here.

On 18th September 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2602 recommendations about 2573 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The King Street Tavern

This street corner pub has an attractive and enticing exterior, however once inside the place has that modern stripped out feel albeit with a few hints to tradition. The pub is a long single space, I suspect linking two original properties due to the slight change in level to the right, beyond the bar. The floor is bare boarded with a few rugs here and there, seating is at generally regular tables of varying size and shape and with that current trend of mixed chair styles. There are some solid looking timber beams, probably not original, and a fair bit of wood panelling. Bright and airy, the windows are large and of plain glass but with upper chequered coloured glass pieces, large pot plants in most corners. A number of mirrors are dotted around, all with etched glass but not of any vintage.
The overall feel is pretty chilled, helped by the jazz soundtrack. A shelf has a few books regarding the genre plus some concerning beer.
The pub is a Wadworth's house, five handpumps, one unclipped; 6X, Henry's IPA, Boundary plus Thatchers Heritage Cider. I noticed that the keg fonts were limited to Amstel, Thatchers Gold cider and something called Corvus Stout. Food is served and looked pretty good, not an extensive menu, the chalkboard listed home made soups, sausage and mash and ham with eggs and spring onion potato cake. Sunday roasts advertised around £9.
To the right is a scruffy looking bit of courtyard garden which contains an absolute wreck of a piano which clearly will never play another note.
Not a bad pub at all, not on my original list but I'm glad I popped in. NB closed Mon/Tues lunchtime (Wed to Fri 12-3) generally 5/6pm opening.

On 28th October 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The King Street Tavern

ps doesn't open until 18:00(!) Sat.

17 February 2009
Wadworth beers, 6X, JCB, Henry's IPA, Bishops Tipple, Horizon. Looks traditional from exterior and there is some old-style architecture in evidence, albeit with modernist ‘twists' (I'd twist the fkn designer's head off!). Nice back-bar, etched mirrors, restaurant area to right, jazz band setting up to left. It's not at all bad, but potted plants & spider-lights(?) make you feel it's been made over for ‘Manhattan Transfer' enthusiasts. It wouldn't be on my list for a return visit.

On 17th February 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The King Street Tavern

When i went in this pub it was called the Diamond.
This was a really nice looking back street pub that still had its original tiled frontage,once inside the pub was just as nice with lots of wood about and the pub seemed pretty much unaltered.
When we visited this pub it was a Wadworths tied house and there were three real ales on the bar we had drink of Wadworths Henrys IPA and this was a really nice drink the other beers were Wadworth 6X and Adnams bitter.
This was a proper locals pub and it was well worth the visit.

Pub visited 18/2/1999

Photo taken 20/2/1999

On 18th February 1999 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]