User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 19th January 2020) with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Standing Order (JD Wetherspoon), Southampton Central, Southampton

30 High Street
Southampton
SO14 2DF
Phone: 02380222121

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Standing Order (JD Wetherspoon)

Two banks of six pumps, with not one locale to be seen unfortunately. So had to settle on Tyne Ales Hideaway which was cheap and cheerful. The interior was typical old style Spoons with lots of dark timbers and red painted walls. The only relief from the décor was some watercolour paintings of the local area, displayed around the front walls. The pub also goes back a very long way and has a patio area out the back.

On 3rd April 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2934 recommendations about 2934 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Standing Order (JD Wetherspoon)

The Standing Order is an old school Spoons which was once a bank but internally seems to have no hint of that at all. It's a very long single room with the bar on the left and a raised area on the right. It was busy with all sorts of people on my early Tuesday afternoon visit.
The bar has twelve hand pumps which had The JDW Trio Of Doom, two ciders, Ringwood Old Thumper & 49er, London Pride, MASH Copper, Titanic Full Steam Ahead, Tring Side Pocket For A Toad and bizarrely Evan Evans St David's Ale. I felt like asking if anyone was aware that St David's Day was three weeks ago! I noticed that the Black Dragon Cider here was £2.75 a pint which was the same price as the 49er so went for that.
This was hardly an inspiring Spoons. It would be better with genuine local microbrewery beers rather than the two Ringwood ones and the boring London Pride.

On 27th March 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2146 recommendations about 2141 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Standing Order (JD Wetherspoon)

A down market JDW in a former commercial premises. It consists of a single large rectangular bar, carpeted, with the usual JDW décor only more dismal and depressing. The customers were mainly foreign tourists, giro-dependents and noisy families. Children were allowed to run riot, and smoke was allowed to drift in from the rather sorry looking collection of chairs outside the front door. The staff were bordering on the rude and were very unappealing both visually and temperamentally. There were 11 ales and a cider on draft; I had a pint of Flack's Double Drop, which was in reasonable condition. I wouldn't rush back, but I'd come in for a casual ale.

On 29th June 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2450 recommendations about 2428 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Standing Order (JD Wetherspoon)

I found nothing positive to say about this place whatsoever, won't be back.

On 13th April 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1307 recommendations about 1294 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Standing Order (JD Wetherspoon)

A long, bland Spoons with little of note. Five guest ales; my initial choice of Salopian Darwin was in good shape if a tad cold however the follow-up of Old Thumper was more akin to apple juice. Got my own back by getting a cheeky phone charge off the sockets at the pubs rear so I suppose it levels out...

On 24th September 2013 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3960 recommendations about 3948 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Standing Order (JD Wetherspoon)

Had been on the road for a while and arrived late into Southampton and was in need of a place where I could get a decent pint of Ale and edible food at 10.00PM at night
What can I say, it's a Wetherspoons ! , almost like any other. And the only way I could tell I was not back in the one in Watford high street was different beers on the hand pumps.
But to be fair, the Ringwoods was more than passable, the service was quick and efficient, and food was served till 11.00PM and also passable. In fact the Lorry drivers with rigs down by the dock gates who were occupying most of the single tables towards the back of the pub looked more than healthy on the £6.99 mixed grills. .
However , reverted to type when I passed it again at 10.00AM the following morning on way to the West Quays shopping centre to see several 'senior citizens waiting for the Standing Order to open.

On 29th October 2007 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1694 recommendations about 1643 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Standing Order

Fairly large Wetherspoon's selling a good range of locally brewed beers which were in pretty good nick.Usual food deals.

On 28th March 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2039 recommendations about 2020 pubs]