User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 22nd November 2020) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Brewhouse & Kitchen, Landport, Portsmouth

26 Guildhall Walk
Portsmouth
PO1 2DD
Phone: 02392891340

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

The Brewhouse and kitchen has an onsite brewery to the right of the entrance, which was kicking up a stink during a recent Friday afternoon visit with the Pubs Galore brigade. I’m not fan of the brewing process aroma, so it took a while for my nostrils to acclimatise. An island bar is in the centre of the pub with seating all the way around. The bar supports a large range of craft/premium keg and four hand pumps, I opted for a half Mary Rose (£1.90) which was very good. I found the service to be very polite, but the beer did run out very quickly. Food is available all day, the burgers are £8.95.
There is no live sport here, but there was some low background music playing. There is a late license until midnight on Fridays and Saturdays.
This is the sort of pub I would pop into for a pint, but I wouldn’t stay all evening.

On 3rd May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Having found the Sutton Coldfield branch of this chain a major disappointment three years earlier I wasn't that keen on coming here. As it was only a few yards down the road from the car crash Spoons I gave in. It's a trendy sort of place as noted below but I found it pleasant enough and managed to get a seat despite the presence of a motley crew of drinkers.
There is an emphasis on food, "craft" keg beers (some of which are becoming quite mainstream) and gins but despite this there were four hand pumps with only one available soon and three of their premises brewed ales. I went for the Black Swan (£4.20) which was a decent well kept Black IPA and not overpriced for the South.
This was a lot better than I expected and will try their Lichfield outlet in the near future. I would even consider a returen to this one.

On 15th April 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

First stop of the Great PuG Pompey crawl. Forgot I’d been here until I walked through the door, then it came flooding back, and it’s all much the same as before - nice enough. Professional Geezer behind the bar served-up a decent homebrew called Mary Rose (NBSS 3).

March 2014 (as White Swan Brewhouse)
Newly-opened brewpub (that was briefly a Wetherspoon beforehand) that I happily stumbled across en route to, err, the other Spoons at the end of the street. The brew kit is to the right on entering (through a nice wood and glass porch) and a demonstration/Q&A was underway when I visited. As mentioned below, the brewing smells are infused into the interior which makes for a pleasant experience (certainly better than smoky cooking oil and farts, anyway). An island bar means there’s plenty of seating to be had around the pub. Nice chequerboard and parquet flooring, with some metro tiling by the bar and on a couple of walls. A cabinet to the left of the room displayed their beery wares. Interesting to see an interactive display of hops and malts at the bar, plus a small stand displaying the different types of branded glassware available (though I wasn’t sure whether you could specifically ask for a certain type of vessel for your ale). Three ales on, two from their brewery (a bitter and porter, quite nice but died a little bit on the way down) plus one from Moor. Plenty of interesting keg and bottled products as to be expected. Only one girl behind the bar who seemed to be more Houdini than Al Murray. A mute TV was tuned to News 24. There’s plenty to like in this new venture and I’d happily pop back again. Rated 7

On 10th April 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Dating from at least the early 19th century, this is an early Edwardian incarnation built to the designs of local architect A. H. Bone in the brewers’ Tudor style; it’s a fine half-timbered corner building with extraordinary figures flanking the entrances.
Inside and it’s a much more modern and stripped out affair. As mentioned, it has a bit of a restaurant feel though a nod to the brewing trade here is the all-pervasive malty funk, redolent of a Boot’s homebrew kit, copper brewing vessels and a ramshackle table or two with a Perspex top, underneath which you can see partitions containing various examples of malts and hops. Some décor comprises distressed doors which hang from the ceiling, perhaps as an aid to improving acoustics.
No need to get in here early doors as the place was sparsely patronised at lunchtime and indeed wasn’t that full when I made a return visit at 8.30.
Ales: four real, though two ‘coming soon’ with my half of Amber coming in at £1.80 which was fine.
This place is ok if you’re into craft keg and like modern interiors but it’s not really a pub for the traditionalist.

On 2nd April 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 996 recommendations about 981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Interesting brew pub, or is it a craft beer bar? or is it a restaurant? Or, as Pubsignman says below, probably trying to cover all bases and be all three to all demographics.
We were here to try it in its capacity as a brew pub and in that respect fortunately I was ahead of the pack and entered when three of the four ales were on the go and did get to try the Black Swan Black IPA before it disappeared for the stragglers below, and very good it was too. However it was interesting to note that the original row of six hand pumps has now been replaced with one of four ale pumps and a unit providing an additional four keg taps to the tiled craft beer wall at the back of the bar. I wonder if that is a sign of things to come for what moves in places like this?
I didn’t notice what was on the new unit on the bar but the craft wall at the back had Howling Hops Das Koolsch, Beavertown Gamma Ray, Camden Town Pale Ale, Big Hug Juicy Pale, Yeasty Boys Digital IPA, Redchurch Great Eastern IPA, Innis & Gunn Blood red Sky and the Brewhouse’s own Henrys Rock.
As mentioned they were brewing during our visit which gave the pub a pleasant aroma, and hopefully long may they continue to do so on the premises..

On 1st April 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

It was good to arrive in here when they were brewing, so the aromas from the Mash Tun had me racing to the bar. Unfortunately when choosing an IPA, the barman brought my attention to the dreaded label "available soon" along with the Black Swan, so two ales unavailable on our Friday afternoon visit. However I settled on the Sextons Golden Ale, which was reasonable, but wouldn't warrant a second visit to the bar. We sat opposite the bar at an upended wooden barrel, which displayed a collection of brewing grains and hops under a glass table top. Microbrewery equipment was housed on the left of entrance and a collection of weathered doors hung from the ceiling, which were there for that shabby chic look, or were placed there purposely to soak up sound, when the pub gets busy.

On 31st March 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

A pleasing mock tudor exterior,the coppers are immediately to the right of the front door and brewing smells filled the air.There is a seating area to the left and a small bar with 4 handpumps and 4 keg taps where you can sample the wares from the brewing process.The interior is quite modest ,smaller than most in this chain although there is a roof terrace ,which promised much but just delivered four tables is a souless yard.Useful if you want a tab however.
The real ale options on my trip were Sextons,Black Swan (clip reversed),Mucky Duck and Mary Rose (pleasant enough).The doors suspended on the ceiling was a feature but not overwhelming,which was also my feeling about the pub.

On 30th March 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Still very much as described in the previous review. Curiously it feels much more like a restaurant than a pub, however it is a very good place to go to consume beer, whether eating or not.

On 4th November 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2266 recommendations about 2214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about White Swan Brewhouse & Kitchen

A quite striking mock Tudor exterior on this fair sized corner pub gives way to an equally pleasant interior,a mixture of parquet wood and black and white tiled flooring leads through to several areas for both drinking and eating purposes,aerial decoration took the form of wooden (distressed) Venetian window blinds suspended at various angles from the ceiling.There are five hand pumps on the central bar which is straight in front of you as you enter the pub, four were active on my Sunday lunchtime visit, all house brewed beers, the brewing kit is in full view to your left as you enter the pub. Beers on were Crafty IPA 5.0% ,Sexton (Gold) 4.0%,Mucky Duck (trad English beer ) 3.4% selling at a rather decent price of £2.40 a pint and Black Swan (Black IPA) 5.7%, I had the crafty described as a fruity IPA, It was ok but didn't blow me away particularly. I like the pub though (and the chain) and would definitely include it on a pub crawl of the area.

On 29th February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about White Swan Brewhouse & Kitchen

Formerly Ye White Swan, as detailed on the retained external signage, this is now a brew-pub – part of a small chain with bars in Islington, Highbury and Dorchester plus a Bristol venue still in the pipeline. The Grade II listed pub is on a pleasant street close to the Guildhall and has a wonderfully over-the-top Brewer’s Tudor façade with ship’s figureheads flanking each doorway (some no longer in use). You enter into a large single room with a central island servery and a set of brewing coppers to the right. A good deal of bench and standard seating has been arranged around all sides of the room and included some unusual benches with switchable backs that allow you to change the direction the bench faces without moving it. A mix of old photos and beer and food related posters and items line the walls and we also spotted some hops in a display cabinet and in glasses on the servery. To the rear, there is a fireplace with a partially plastered chimney breast, which looked a bit out of place in what was otherwise a thoughtfully composed interior. One nice feature was the use of sewn together hop sacks to create a curtain which shielded customers from the entrance to the toilets. We visited on Remembrance Sunday, so the place was doing a very good trade with former servicemen who had been paying their respects at the nearby cenotaph, but I got the impression that the pub is usually just as busy on a regular weekend. We stopped here for a Sunday roast and found that it was quite expensive and not the most generous of portions.
There were five ales available on this visit, mostly from the in-house brewing operation and I opted for their session bitter which was a decent accompaniment to my meal. I didn’t manage to get a full list of the beers available, but they were detailed on a small blackboard on the bar. The keg range was pretty interesting, with very few mainstream options and there appears to be a decent range of bottled beers on offer too. The staff seemed very friendly and were helpful in sorting out a table for our party.
This is a slightly unusual place, pitched somewhere between craft beer bar, traditional brew-pub and restaurant. As such, it doesn’t quite make the grade in any of these categories, but having said that, it all comes together well enough to make this a decent enough place for a good pint in this part of town.

On 26th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2535 recommendations about 2535 pubs]

Page: 1 2