User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 5th December 2021) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Pembroke, Portsmouth

Pembroke Road
Portsmouth
PO1 2NR

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Pembroke

The Pembroke is a proper backstreet no frills local’s boozer. The U-shaped interior houses a piano and dartboard to the right of the bar and seating under a plasma screen to the left. No live sport was advertised but there was some low background music playing.
Standard keg is available from the bar that also supports three hand pumps that were drawing Abbot Ale, London pride and Bass. The food stretches to £1 rolls. I found the service to be polite. This place won’t be to everyone’s taste, but I would recommend to fans of old school pubs.

On 10th May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3599 recommendations about 3579 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Pembroke

A traditional corner pub that's a bit battered round the edges. Staple shaped, with a pleasing half decagonal bar upper, a nice dark varnish corner area with some Pompey memorabilia and floor-to-ceiling tongue and groove panelling. Pretty busy for a Friday lunchtime. Three ales on; GK Abbot, London Pride and a warm, lacklustre Bass (NBSS 2). Shame it was a bit slapdash, a bit more care and it could be a draw.

On 10th April 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Pembroke

Small and very traditional, a cosy corner locals’ pub dating from at least the late 19th century, sporting a slightly nautical theme. A very friendly barmaid coped admirably with the hoard that had just descended upon her. There are cheap rolls from the bar by way of food, but the ale selection comprises Abbot, Pride and Bass which I last had in a can of shandy circa 1973. At £1.95 it was a little steep and not great, but this is ‘Old Portsmouth’, so you’re paying for the location.
This isn’t a bad little place though some might find a bit blokey. It’s probably best appreciated as part of a crawl rather than event destination, but the choice of beer is a little lacklustre.

On 2nd April 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1314 recommendations about 1293 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Pembroke

I really wanted to like this one as the Pembroke is the kind of old school traditional corner back street pub I really like, being a basic local’s boozer with a traditional pub carpet U shaped bar around a central serving area, a tiled fireplace with pub mirror above and various local club shields and historical prints of Portsmouth to give the place a bit of character.
Three regular real ales are served in the form of Fullers London pride, GK Abbot and Draught Bass, and unfortunately my first visit on the official PuG crawl provided a very substandard sample of the Draught Bass that really wasn’t pleasant at all. But as our hotel was situated further up the Pembroke Road, we had the opportunity to walk past this one on a few occasions on the following day en route to explore the Old Town and Gunwharf Keys and finding it fairly well utilised throughout the Saturday popped in again to give it another chance, this time going for the London Pride, which was a lot better.
But just to prove that pub appreciation is very subjective my good lady found the Pembroke far too “blokey” and found the Dolphin around the corner much more to her taste.

On 2nd April 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1770 recommendations about 1714 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Pembroke

A cosy little old-time corner pub, sounding unchanged from the previous reviews and still with a carpeted U shaped bar, London Pride, Abbot and Bass on draught and a selection of nice rolls. Pleasant and relaxing.

On 30th March 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2465 recommendations about 2410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Pembroke

A perfectly decent if basic locals pub,a carpeted U shape bar complete with a piano in one corner, background music from the 60's, Orbison etc, gave a not unpleasant throwback feel to the place. Three beers on ,Pride,Abbot and Bass, the latter a drink I hadn't tried for years was nice enough.

On 29th February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1436 recommendations about 1420 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Pembroke

This large, Edwardian hostelry is both a busy town pub and a popular local. Regular events such as quiz nights punctuate the routine delivery of decent beer and food. The staff were very welcoming, even getting us to join in with administering the quiz. The clientele were also friendly, engaging in banter and even intellectual debate. There were 3 ales on: I had London Pride, which was OK but not brilliant. Overall, though, well worth a visit.

On 17th April 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2736 recommendations about 2704 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Pembroke

Might have changed since the post in 2009 but I found this pub to be a really clean proper traditional locals pub serving about three ales and the Bass was in superb condition. Rolls available at a very good value with no frills such as A side salad.
Superb banter between the locals and bar maid.

If only there were more pubs still like this ..if I wasn't on a bit of a pub crawl then I could quite happily quite happily have joined in the conversations going on at the time.
Really glad I called I here for a pint.

On 29th September 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about The Pembroke

Went in on a Saturday lunchtime. This pub is really a normal corner boozer of the old school, grubby stools & chairs but good beer choices and locals

Serves food so it says, but I only had a cheese & onion roll for £1

If you are male then go for it, leave wifey etc outside if swearing may offend

On 1st September 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]