User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Queens Arms, Basingstoke

Bunnian Place
Basingstoke
RG21 7JE

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about The Queens Arms

After a period in the doldrums it has returned to being a rather good and cosy locals pub. Several half-timbered-effect areas range round the central bar and it is generally warm and friendly. The display of pump clips hints at the variety of changing ales - on this visit featuring Adnams Bitter, Exeter Grubber, Brains SA and Doom Bar, with Animal XT Rhino due on next. Very handy for the station and worth calling in.

On 15th February 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2598 recommendations about 2542 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Queens Arms

Seems to be on the up again, with a couple of interesting guests in good nick the other week and the customer base seems to have returned more towards the friendly locals rather than the Mockney cockpots that seemed to have gained traction a while back.

April 2014
It all seems to be sliding downhill here from the heights of a few years ago. Just three ales on and the Yorks Porter was the only one of interest (Doom Bar and Courage Best were the other two). It was pretty flat and I struggled to finish it. Two EDL full-kit heroes propping up the bar which makes me question the house rules (or lack of). Living off past glories and I’d think twice before automatically swerving here to neck a half between trains now. A real shame. Rated 6

May 2012
UPDATE: There seems to have been a change in management here but the ethos and quality remain the same. Batemans Dark Mild, Orkney Northern Light, Ilkley Mary Hoppins, Courage Best and Doom Bar on. The guests were £3.50pp. Rated 8.

August 2011
The best pub in Basingstoke and handily close to the station too. A good variety of ale (usually four) in good shape is its main selling point – I’ve never had a pint less than good in here. The U-shaped interior is basically what would have been two rooms now knocked into one, the right hand side retaining a comfier lounge bar element, with the left being a more public bar feel. Both areas have a 70’s mock Tudor interior vibe. Nice clientèle mix – beardies, office workers, builders, rail staff etc it making for a comfortable and lively atmosphere most evenings. Food is available. TV’s on the wall with larger profile sporting events shown though switched off otherwise. Recommended, not just for a ‘quick one before the train' but for a proper session. Rated 8.

On 10th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Queens Arms

A half decent pub,handy for the train station,you should find two or three interesting beers on normally and as such its worth a pint if you have a long wait for a train connection, as I did last Sunday evening on my way back from Pompey. I had a good pint of Frog Island TOC Porter.In terms of Basingstoke pubs, it really is about the best you will find here.

On 2nd March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1558 recommendations about 1539 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Queens Arms

I'm sure I visited this pub way back in Winter 1973 after going for an interview with the Civil Service Commission which resulted in my first "proper" job.
I'm certain this was a Courage pub then and it still serves the boring brew from Bedford so that seals it for me.
It's to the left as you leave the main South entrance to Basingstoke Station just by where a tunnel goes under the lines on the road heading North.
Inside it's a fairly small single room which wraps around the central bar with food areas on the right and further back. It was mostly full of older folk on my Friday lunchtime visit.
The bar has a pair of hand pumps which are wasted with Courage Best and Doom Bore while the other bank of four had one unused. The three beers available were Village Old Raby, Rudgate Vanilla Mild and B&T Albion Ale. I went for the Old Raby (£3.75) which was in good nick.
I thought this was a pleasant enough place but nothing particularly special. In the context of being a pub in a dump like Basingstoke it's rather good.

On 18th January 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Queens Arms

Popped in to check out what was the best pub in Basingstoke as it didn't make the GBG2015, luckily it's still good and could still be the best pub in Basingrad but I'm not going round them all to make sure - unless I become a masochist.

On 22nd September 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2592 recommendations about 2360 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Queens Arms

This is a friendly locals pub, they seem more than happy to welcome most people here. The pub itself is small and divided into different sections. The little areas round the back seem more orientated for people who are eating here. Just because the pub is small does not mean it feels cramped - plenty of games and packs of cards available as well. Appears to hold quiz nights every now and then. On the beer drinking side there was 5 real ales on - 3 of them must be guest ales as they seem to keep changing all at around 4% ABV. The other beers were Doom Bar and Courage Best along with your usual selection of lagers. Probably the best pub in Basingstoke.

On 23rd February 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about The Queens Arms

While you might expect the pub nearest to the station to be low-quality (a daunting prospect indeed in this town), it turns out that the Queens Arms is one of the best. Go in, and the bar's right there: Fosters seems to be drink of choice for most of the crowd, but there are 3 handpumps offering guests from far & wide; at the right-hand end of the bar are couple more pumps clipped for Courage Best & Doom Bar, although these seem to be considered 'out of sight and out of mind' - it took me a while to spot them.

The beer's good and the crowd friendly. There seems little need to explore further.

On 1st July 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 323 recommendations about 308 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Queens Arms

Pub closely situated near to Basingstoke train station. This does seem to be a CAMRA haunt, it may seem an unusual pub at first but this does feel like a real locals with men sitting at the bar chatting away. It is not somewhere to come out of the way for, but is a decent pub.

On 15th August 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Queens Arms

The Queen's Arms is a slightly run-down looking pub which seems a bit out of place in the modern town centre, but stepping inside is like entering a different world. The reception was a bit odd, and the staff a bit reserved. The clientele was mixed, ranging from a suited idiot who couldn't work out how to pay to a CAMRA cliche, quietly yet harmlessly knitting his own yoghurt in the corner. This is clearly a CAMRA haunt, as evinced by the various awards around the walls and the CAMRA newsletters from various parts of the country (though, curiously, none from Hampshire).

The beer was fantastic, and despite appearances, the landlord abviously cares a great deal about it. There were 4 ales on when I visited; I tried both the Springhead Ginger Pig and the Ascot Ales Alley Cat - both were outstanding, pefectly kept and served at the right temperature.
This is a great beer pub and surely a must for any town crawl. It's also very close to the station, so worth breaking a journey for and ideal if waiting for a train.

On 19th July 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2833 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Queens Arms

A busy pub next to the station, very probably the best in Basingstoke. Varied choice of good guest ales plus the usual range of fine keg beers. Decor is a particularly odd brewers tudor with genuine 16th century fibre glass beams. Older but not old customers and very much less chavvy than you normally find in Basingrad. A very pleasant place to wait for a train, in fact you will probably end up missing one or two trains.

On 12th November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2592 recommendations about 2360 pubs]