User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 20th September 2020) with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Last Post (JD Wetherspoon), Loughton

227 High Road
Loughton
IG10 1BB

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 3 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Last Post (JD Wetherspoon)

Update 15/02/2014

I still pop in here now and again. It comes into it's own when the cider festival is on as they serve it all from the cellar and they have most of the range on.
I turned up here today to find one of the worst selections of ales I have seen in a Spoons. The only plus point was that the Doombore clip was turned around. One pump was unclipped. Available were Fuller's ESB & London Pride, GK Abbot and IPA, Bateman's XXXB and Exmoor Gold. I went for the Exmoor Gold which was in good nick but just isn't the attraction it was when if first arrived about 35 years a go. Rating reduced as a result of this and other disappointing visits.

Update 24/10/2012

The old staff seem to be back and the handpumps working again. I popped in for day 1 of the festival. All the pumps were going and I had two beers Everard's Terra Firma and Steenbrugge Dubbel Bruin at £1.99 a pint. They were both in good condition, but the Steenbrugge waa a bit thin, I suspect that's because they are trying to replicate an 8% Belgian Dubbel at a mere 6%.

I was mildly irritated by being served the beer in a London Pride glass and there was a single noisy young child. There was also a group of cantankerous old gits which made me feel more at home.


Previous Visits

I went in here today for the Cider Festival and something I suspected a good few weeks ago was confirmed by the manager/duty manager (there seems to have been a complete change of staff recently).

All the real ales are currently being served straight from the cask in the nearby "cellar".

Sadly the reason for this is that the handpumps are knackered, but I assume it won't continue.

They had a couple of East London Brewery beers on.


I've been going here on and off for some time. It's certainly the smallest Spoons I've been to as it only has two small areas with a corner bar. There wasn't a great selection this time, I think there was at least one of that awful brew that Spoons staff love so much "Available Soon".

It seems to have been run for a while now by a blond woman who is pleasant enough and seems to be making a decent job of it. The last half dozen or so times I've visited there always seems to be adequate levels of staff especially given the small size of the place. There only seems to be a delay when orders for coffee come in (this seems to happen in all Spoons).

The drinking of coffee in pubs should be BANNED. I would like to see Dumb and Dumber bring in a law next week to achieve this.

I don't recall ever seeing kids in here, despite a post below.

I had a pint of Brentwood Porter at £2.55 which was in good form and had a vague sort of taate of er, coffee!

On 15th February 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Last Post (JD Wetherspoon)

I found the governor in here to be a friendly chap and there were five ales available alongside a standard draught range that were all available at reasonable prices.

There are a couple of plasma screens that were showing a muted Sky Sports feed, not that anyone was watching it.

If you're a fan of Wetherspoons you'll like this place.

On 14th July 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Last Post

Gone down hill since MY last visit. Not a very good selection of guest ales and the only reason for one star is the Fullers ESB was in good form

On 5th March 2008 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Hill left this review about The Last Post

This pub lost the best manager it ever had over a year ago.Since then it has been going from bad to worse.Atempts have been made to improve it to no avail.Appeals have been made to Tim Martin who on one occassion did vistit this pub,but only managed to speak to one individual.Service has not improved can wait over ten minutes to get served, staff rude.Food leaves a lot to be desired.This pub is now trying to compete with all the coffee houses in the High Street and has lost its identity as a pub. Since the smoking ban this pub has become a nursery. On occassions there has been as many as five push chairs blocking fire exit. If you want a quite drink forget this pub for children noise.This pub should have a designated area for children.

On 22nd October 2007 - rating: 2
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Harry Potts left this review about The Last Post

New manager,new ideas,total disaster.Went Sunday to beer festival,40 minutes wait for cold food.Eveyone complaining,families leaving,matters got heated.Even staff now revolting. Some beers like mud,seem to think bottle conditioned means hair shampoo. Television sound on for matches. Just when we thought things could not get worse.Childrens birthday parties in evenings. Children age 3 to 9 took over pub,everybody in total disbelief at noise.Drinkers banned for less.Only two pumps on after beer festival.Complaints made to Wetherspoon,just get same computer generated letter.Nothing being done.Regulars informed area manager has same name as manager,coincidence or nepotism!Mr.Martin,please do something? All now going to Victoria Tavern.

On 2nd November 2006 - rating: 2
[User has posted 6 recommendations about 6 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jane Bloom left this review about The Last Post

Does anybody know what has happened to this once great pub?As in the last few months it has certainly gone downhill. Read other contributors comments and agree with them. Now the most unreliable pub in Loughton. Use to go to this pub regularly for meals with elderly and disabled friends, not anymore. Kitchens regularly closed due to "lack of staff". Hence no meals served. This is the last thing we need, wasting our time and causing great inconvenience. Few beer pumps working. Toilets leave a lot to be desired, disabled toilets used to store pubs furniture. Complaints made to Wethererspon, informed area manager will rectify matters. Has not. This pub should be renamed to the Grim Reaper as pub is dead. Are Wetherspoons concerned at all!

On 28th October 2006 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Arthur Sawyer left this review about The Last Post

This use to be the best pub in Loughton however in the last few months this has dramatically changed. The draught beers are constantly off, as are some of the lagers and wines that are advertised.
The advertised Monday Club rarely has the Polish Beer requested by most. Waiting over ten minutes to get served is not uncommon. The coffee machine nearly always appears to be not working. On occassions the pub does not open on time and leaves the customer just waiting uninformed on the pavement outside. This pub has also now become the best kindagarden in Loughton with children being allowed to to run around in unchecked. Regulars are now leaving to find other places, which saids it all. Forget it.

On 9th October 2006 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Phil Sharpe left this review about The Last Post

Surprised how empty pub was for a Thursday. Had a good number of beer pumps, but the same beers connected, giving the illusion there were more different beers available than actually was. Within half an hour of visit five pumps were off. Just one member of staff trying to serve beer, food and reconnect beer pumps. Thursday is this pubs curry night, we ordered a curry only to find some of the side items were missing. On asking about missing items were informed they were unavailable, which totally ruined the meal. The Last Post, is also a tune played at memorial services in rememberance of that which is lost. This pub is certainly lost as regards to looking after its customers and there is certainly nothing worth remembering about it.

On 3rd October 2006 - rating: 2
[User has posted 5 recommendations about 5 pubs]