User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 24th May 2020) with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Golden Pheasant, Biggleswade

71 High Street
Biggleswade
SG18 0JH

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about The Golden Pheasant

Called in this pub that is listed in the 2019 Good Beer Guide yesterday. Busy town centre pub with a selection across the pumps. We hose Tring Ridgeway which was fine.

On 7th July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Golden Pheasant

The previous reviewer will be glad to hear that the pub dog is still here, older but not really any wiser. He yapped at me as I entered and created merry hell when a placid old mutt came in. He's learnt how to leave the bar area by standing on his hind legs and using his front ones to open the door then shoving his way through.
As noted this is a small old town local with an L shaped room and a small patio area at the rear.
The bar has two sets of three hand pumps which had Charles Wells Eagle IPA & London Gold, North Yorkshire Porter, Bexley Own Beer, Whitstable Renaissance Ruby Mild and Chiltern Battle Of Britain Old Ale. I went for the Bexley beer (£3.30) which was first class.
I thought this was a good pub but very much a locals one. I preferred the New Inn. It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 22nd September 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Golden Pheasant

A small,low ceiling High Street boozer which is popular with locals.The front door opens into a carpeted room with traditional wooden furniture and a bar to the right.Although the pub is owned by Charles Wells,the tenants are able to offer guests from different breweries so you can avoid the insipid Eagle IPA and boring Directors,with guests on the other four handpumps namely Island's Wight Gold (in good nick ,£3)Okell's Olde Skipper,St Austell Tribute (£3.20) and Wood's Athletes Ale on my visit.There is also a traditional scrumpy cider on offer.
The pub is wet led and there was no sign of food.A commercial pop radio station was piped around the pub,but not at peak volume.Without this distraction ,it is very easy to earwig on any conversation at the bar due to the small interior and there was a lot of local gossip during my lunchtime visit.A small wall mounted flat screen was turned off.There is a courtyard with a rank of bench seats and an awning to the side .
A noteable feature was the pub dog,a jack russell.He growled regularly at anyone peering through the pub windows and would break into a yap without provocation.He seemed very upset that I should want to leave the pub,this act stimulated a crescendo of barking.It's a good job I like dogs,other reviewers might be a lot less tolerant.
Probably the best pub in the area for beer ,not difficult with so many GK tied houses around.Rightly featured in the 2012 GBG.

On 9th August 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Golden Pheasant

A good old fashioned pub with a good range of real ales which makes a good change for a town that is dominated by gk

On 3rd February 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Stephen Irish left this review about The Golden Pheasant

I have spent many hours at this wonderful and friendly pub enjoying the many ales on offer i recomend if you have time to visit The Golden Pheasent with John the landlord then do it you wont regret it.

On 7th September 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john Walsh left this review about The Golden Pheasant

A spcialist Ale House with 6 rel ale's always on offer, from local brewers and far afield, specialist in micro brewery Ales. Beer always in tip top condition. Very friendly pub with no juke box, fruit machines or TV.

On 12th September 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Golden Pheasant

Youngs Special, Archers Game Set & Match, Wells Eagle ipa, Adnams, & the excellent Crouch Vale Oregon Best & Buntingford Twilight. Welcoming local feel in comfortable front bar, dartboard in corner to left, albeit above a table. Nicely paved courtyard, lots of picnic sets, some covered by giant umbrella.The bar displays a list of those collectively barred in Biggleswade; probably 2 dozen(!) names, but I doubt the site of their wrongdoing would often be the Golden Pheasant. Certainly one to return to if in the area again.

On 6th July 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]