User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with AlanH on the Pub Forum

First In Last Out, Hastings

15 High Street
Hastings
TN34 3EY
Phone: 01424425079

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about First In Last Out

A traditional pub that is well supported by the locals. The interior is like stepping back to the 70s and beats a lot of modern pub interiors, especially the carpet which is fixed to the panels along the front of the bar. Another main feature apart from the booths, was the central fireplace in the back part of the front lounge, which was giving out great heat from burning logs on our visit. Six ales on handpump, five from Filo Brewery, Churches, Gold, Crofted, Cardinal Sussex Porter and Old Town Tom, plus a Harvey's Sussex bitter. We went for the Filo Churches, which was decent.

On 5th November 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about First In Last Out

Small pub on old High Street, with an octagonal fire place in the middle of the room and I assume is just for effect. Carpeted, mainly booth seating & artexed walls. Cosy enough feel.

FILO beers, but served rather warm

On 29th October 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about First In Last Out

In the Old Town area of Hastings, a short walk inland from the seafront promenade, is The First In, Last Out, probably one of the best known real ale pubs in this part of Sussex.

As we reach the pub after a short gradual uphill climb, we see a sign outside proudly proclaiming “real ale brewed on the premises”, although I understand that, although the FILO Brewery was born here in 1985, it relocated to more suitable premises several hundred yards away up the road in 2011. The building housing the pub apparently dates back to the 1500’s although you wouldn’t know it from looking at the rather unremarkable exterior – nor would you realise it was a former Charrington’s house.

Inside, we find a smallish single room pub with a traditional wooden bar servery on the right hand side, opposite which are a number of seating booths created by high backed settles and intended for groups of either 4 or 6. It’s a pleasant, but rather unremarkable interior with something of a slightly old fashioned feel. A large hooded fireplace near the middle of the room reduces the available space somewhat. There’s no TV’s or fruit machines. Frosted front windows help create quite a cosy feel. A fine collection of CAMRA and other stickers on these windows bear testimony to the pub’s achievements over the years.

A larger more modern room at the back, accessed through a corridor, provides additional space for diners and doubles up as a function room

On my early April Saturday lunchtime visit, the pub was dominated by diners, enjoying the well regarded home cooked food and, like other drinkers, I felt more comfortable occupying a stool at the bar. Six beers were on – Dark Star Hophead plus as many as 5 different home brewed FILO beers. All beers sampled by me ( Crofters, Churches and Cardinal Sussex Porter at £ 3.00p, £ 3.20p and £ 3.40p respectively ) were in excellent form and I was rather surprised therefore to see that the Hophead appeared to sell better than the FILO brews. The pub has been a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular for a long time now.

The pub offers live music on Tuesdays and Thursdays and, on my early April visit, was advertising forthcoming beer festivals for Easter and May Day.

Well worth seeking out when in the area, but, if you’re not dining, you might want to pick carefully what time of day you call in.

On 11th May 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about First In Last Out

Notable in ale circles for the on-site brewery, half a dozen pumps dispense the range of FILO beers. There's also a cider keg on the bar and the usual lager offerings.

It may just have been the mid-afternoon time that I visited, but I struggled to enthuse about this one. It's obviously popular, though, winning awards, and with a regular crowd. I think I'll have to arrange an evening visit to see the place a little livelier.

On 4th May 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 277 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Blue left this review about First In Last Out

I also thought this place was really good. The pub itself it as others have described, with a warm welcome , warm fire, and comfortable atmosphere on our visit on Saturday. It boasted five handpulls, four of which serving from its own FILO brewery, and Everards Elixir was guest on the fifth. Very difficult to decide between the FILO beers, having liked each of them when helpfully given tasters! We ended up on Old Town Tom (not as gingery as previous brews, the barman reflected, slightly dolefully, though we liked it a lot) and Churches, an excellent American-hopped pale ale.

I understand the brewery part of the operation has recently moved to a barn about 150 yards down the road for expansion reasons, and the area to the rear of the pub is being redeveloped into a better kitchen/dining area.

Definitely one to return to.

On 12th March 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 271 recommendations about 270 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about First In Last Out

I paid a long overdue visit to the FILO on a recent Saturday night and after hearing such good things about the place I was looking forward to a couple of pints. It was very busy and all of the seating had been taken up, but there was some comfortable enough standing room where I enjoyed two of the three offerings from the FILO brewery. Adnams Regatta was also available from the bar that sits next to an open kitchen, which was thankfully not in use during my visit. The interior is cosy and there are some booths along the left hand wall. The advertised beer garden out the back is completely covered and feels more like an extension. Obviously being enclosed there is no smoking and drinks are not permitted outside the front of the pub where the smoking takes place. I don’t recall any music playing and I didn’t spot any TVs in the pub, but there is a case on the wall in the rear extension which looked as though it could hold a plasma screen.

I though that the atmosphere in here was good and the staff were very friendly, even when telling me off for drinking out the front. I would have no problem returning.

On 8th October 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about First In Last Out

Distinctive facade with two slightly bowed windows. Cosy interior with the small bar to one side and a row of traditional wooden booths on the other, separated by its well-known open fireplace. Extra seating in an enclosed patio at the back (which is also where the beer festival stillages can be found). Four handpumps offering a number of their own brews such as Crofters Best Bitter, Ginger Tom ("craft ale") and Cardinal Sussex Porter (£3.00). Overall, well worth seeking out.

On 2nd May 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about First In Last Out

Went to this pub many years ago when it had not long started brewing so decided to give it another visit.Full marks for the beer choice but to me the pub lacks any atmosphere.The cooking that takes place at the end of the bar and the overwhelming smell of food gives it the feeling of a kitchen rather than a pub.The beers that I tried were in perfect condition so for the real ale drinker this is a great place to drink.

On 31st January 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Manky Badger left this review about First In Last Out

A wonderful place where everyone is welcome, and they brew their own beer on the premises. Because they actually do know beer (unlike so many other places) the guest beers are spot-on.

I would call this my local, and I live thirty miles away.

On 23rd January 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 155 recommendations about 154 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nigel Sheppard left this review about First In Last Out

A great pub with a micro brewery attached serving excellent ales and a selection of ales from around the country. Very friendly, great Tapas nights on Monday's. Inside you can either sit at the bar or around tables or in booths for a more intimate occasion and there is a 360 degree open fire to sit by in the winter...Don't miss it, if you are in the area.

On 3rd November 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 192 recommendations about 192 pubs]

Page: 1 2