User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 18th February 2024) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Dew Drop Inn, Eastbourne

39 South Street
Eastbourne
BN21 4UP
Phone: 01323723313

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve of N21 left this review about Dew Drop Inn

I missed to visit this one when I was last in town and as we were staying on the western side instead of right up the east end where we were before I wanted to put that right.
Well, it’s not unassuming anymore, and if you compare and contrast the 2018 photos with the more recent 2021 ones you can see what I mean. The front lower section is now tiled green. They look original but can’t say if they were under the previous white plasterwork or have been added. And the upper section sports a striking mural centring on a large moth for reasons that are not obvious.
Inside it looks like it’s the same two-part interior and the front sections are still fairly traditional but I’m guessing some of the décor as you go further back, such as the art deco lampshades and the stained-glass mosaics may have been added when they funked up the front of the pub. The very nice courtyard garden out the back also looks like it has benefitted from some new furniture and umbrellas.
Still Green King and the same pump set up with four handpumps on each part of the central counter, with four ales and a cider across them. Three of the front four were in Operation with Gun Brewery Extra Pale and Deuchars IPA alongside Green King London Glory. The Gun Brewery brew was very good and the back garden a good space in which to enjoy it. I thought this was a good one and well worth doing as the middle part of a trio with The Dolphin and the Eagle either side depending on which direction you approach Little Chelsea.

On 11th July 2023 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2091 recommendations about 1983 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Dew Drop Inn

Quite unassuming-looking Greene King pub with dark green paintwork on the façade and some faux-Tudor woodwork above, but the two-part interior is quite traditional and rather more inviting. Also has a single-storey rear extension and a slightly raised patio terrace at the back. Four handpumps on each part of the central counter, with the combined offering being Olde Trip (£4.25), Abbot Reserve, 6X and Landlord as guests and Old Rosie cider.

On 23rd December 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7969 recommendations about 7969 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Dew Drop Inn

Greene King pub thats rather gothic though with traditional wood floors, some sofas, chunky tables & chairs and a cave like drinking area to one side. Pictures show various body parts, there are some plants & its all a little ecclectic.

Nice beer

On 29th October 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1451 recommendations about 1429 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Dewdrop Inn

A Greene King-branded pub made me think I was chancing my arm a bit as the last pub of the Eastbourne crawl but I was thoroughly surprised by the result. Roosters Yankee, Greene King Olde Trip, Tetley Bitter and Hogs Back TEA were on, with Moorhouse Pendle turned. We tried three of them and were pleased with the quality; indeed the Roosters was my best pint of the day and I’d had a few decent ones by then. Staff behind the bar were friendly and knowledgeable. This should be a bit of a local CAMRA hang-out as there’s a 10% discount for card-carrying members. Clientele were mixed but tended towards the younger, trendier side. The interior had a number of comfy chairs and what I fancied as a real fire. Some interesting tunes were coming out of the speakers, which made a nice change to the usual dross. We ended up in the garden, which was enjoyable without being particularly comfortable.

This was my standout pub in Eastbourne and I’d be making sure to give myself more drinking in here next time I’m down.

On 24th August 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4993 recommendations about 4976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Dewdrop Inn

I visited here with the wife on Saturday night and found a different pub to my last visit over two years ago. Italian food is still served in the form of Panini and pizza, but the clientele was much younger and the music (heavy on the bass with a reggae twist) was supplied by a DJ and louder. Granted my previous visit was during a weekday afternoon, but I do not recall seeing any heavy metal nights advertised then as they are now. The ale selection has been improved as Old Hooky, GCB (Good Cheer Beer) and a Brewdog ale were available alongside Old Speckled Hen.

The service was slow as the barmaid was very chatty to the regulars and the barman was ‘eyes down’ and some of the other customers could do with some lessons in manners, but on the whole I had a decent evening and would return to this pub.

----------------------------------------------

11th August 2008

This is a nice pub with a big U-shaped bar serving up Olde Trip, Old Speckled Hen, GK IPA and a few premium lagers. The bar maid was very friendly and the Olde Trip was extremely good. The food smelt good and the couple eating it a few tables away from me in the nice courtyard out back seemed to be enjoying it.

I didn't spot any TVs anywhere and there was no sport advertised, but there was some funky background music playing.

The misses and I enjoyed it in here and would definitely go back.

On 15th November 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5129 recommendations about 5098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about Dew Drop Inn

Three handpumps incl St Austell Tribute. Good value lunchtime specials board (£5-£6), nice little sun-trap beer garden with growing vine. Short visit, but I liked the place.

On 29th July 2007 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 412 recommendations about 411 pubs]