User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 24th May 2020) with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Stage Door, Eastbourne

10 Compton Street
Eastbourne
BN21 4BW
Phone: 01323732829

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Orchid (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Buccaneer

Scruffy looking pub with Eastern domes on the roof & near the Winter Gardens.

Inside is one long room that is raised at the rear overlooking what I think is the lawn tennis club? Lots of signed theatre pictures on the walls. Some booth seating near door, the rest is wooden tables & chairs.

The raised area at the rear has a skylight & chandalier.

Sticky table could have done with a clean, but its a nice interior.

4 well kept real ales

On 29th October 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Buccaneer

Interesting looking pub which was originally built by the Duke of Devonshire as a theatre bar for staff from the Grand Hotel and has a bit of a Brighton Pavilion theme going on architecturally. It’s a short walk from the centre of Eastbourne in the heart of Theatre Land and overlooking the Devonshire Park Tennis courts, so utilising it during Queens was probably not representative of what it’s like normally. Certainly wasn’t lacking in users and atmosphere during my visits (surprising how many other blokes got pulled down for the Tennis and escaped to find solace in here)
One large internal L shaped space but interesting interior décor with many framed theatre posters several being signed by the performers
There were five ales on, and the always on Harvey’s Best and the Buccaneer Ale (which is Arundel Sussex Gold) were complemented by Longman Best Bitter, Kings Best and one from Dark Star.
Difficult to judge what this place would be like to visit without the tennis or theatre crowds in, but I rated it highly.

On 1st July 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nigel Sheppard left this review about The Buccaneer

If you are not keen on 'Harveys' then this pub is for you. A selection of real ales reasonably kept, with friendly bar staff, possibly the only pub in town with a good selection of beers from different breweries.

On 1st October 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 192 recommendations about 192 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BRUMMIE STEVE left this review about The Buccaneer

If you dont know Eastbourne this is'nt the easiest place to find, but it's worth the search.
Good selection of real ales on offer, on my recent visit to Eastbourne I found this pub on a
busy Friday night, they had a live band on but as I was only having the one here I did'nt stay
as guy came round selling tickets at £4.00 asking me if I'm staying or not.

On 11th June 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 39 recommendations about 39 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Manky Badger left this review about The Buccaneer

Always worth a visit when in Eastbourne - six ales on, all well kept. The food's good, and the service is friendly. the place is clean and spacious, and very convenient for the theatre (!) or the ice cream parlour.

On 13th October 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 155 recommendations about 154 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Buccaneer

A curious-looking building, inside and out, with a reasonable selection of five real ales on including a tasty Itchen Valley Pure Gold. This was very lively and a bit hazy, but the efficient and helpful (if not exactly friendly) barman took care to point this out in advance in case customers wanted to choose something else. A strangely subdued atmosphere.

On 19th April 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Buccaneer

This is a large pub that was devoid of any atmosphere during my visit.

Black Sheep, Harveys Best, Youngs Ordinary and broadside were available and one pump was off and one unused. There were also four standard lagers along with Guinness, Strongbow and Tetleys Smoothflow.

The barmaids were very friendly, but I did get a hint of a Wetherspoons feel, even down to the cheap food. Some would say that this is a good thing and others would not. The Harveys and Black Sheep were good and for this reason I am willing to give this place another try next time I'm in Eastbourne twiddling my thumbs at the in-laws. Maybe I'll take the laptop and make use of the free wi-fi.

On 8th January 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Buccaneer

Missed this one on earlier visit to seafront so it became the last of the day and things are a little unclear. Big pub, high ceilings, good choice of beers, had to rush off for train.

On 29th July 2007 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]