User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Victory Inn, Brighton

6 Duke Street
Brighton
BN1 1AH
Phone: 01273326555

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Victory Inn

More a comment than a review. Reading the reviews below it appears that the Victory could do with a bit of work. Just my luck to call on the day it was shut! I did walk in to be met by a team of builders and was told they would be open tomorrow. Maybe next time …..

On 30th September 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1371 recommendations about 1297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Victory Inn

Very nice looking pub from outside but a bit tatty inside and poor toilets.Three cask beers on and I reluctantly tried Laines -breaker.Dullsville.

On 13th April 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Victory Inn

Most striking on approach, is the fine glazed tilework indicating that this was once a Tamplin’s house, dating back to around 1766. Inside it’s a fairly traditional pub, certainly in the front bar, illuminated in part with daylight filtering through the etched stained-glass windows. There are few small high tables and a bare boarded floor, though there’s a games machine and TV which spoil things a bit. The rear area appears to have been knocked through into at least one house on Middle Street so is more spacious than it seems at first. It’s along this street that there are around four tables with separate benches. In winter, there’s a real log fire – nice. On the downside, the lavatories could do with a little remedial work.
Ales: Jenning’s Sneck Lifter, Sharp’s Doom Bar and Laine’s Breaker at £2.15 a half and indeed non-descript, also a little pricey.
This is mostly a very good pub but could do with a larger and more interesting array of ales. The existing range could be improved by ditching the Doom Bar as the sight of the pump clip offends.
There’s a five-day midnight licence, 2.00 am on Friday and Saturday which is a nice bonus.

On 31st March 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1532 recommendations about 1510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Victory Inn

One of the city's most impressive pub exteriors, with the Tamplin's tilework immediately catching the eye from whichever direction you approach through the Lanes. By comparison, the two-room interior is relatively plainly furnished, but the decorative window glazing adds interest and there is a splendid dark-wood bar-back in the main bar at the front. Five of six handpumps in operation, with three real ales - Doom Bar, Sneck Lifter and Laine's Breaker pale - and a couple of ciders.

On 31st March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Victory Inn

The interior of this pub was traditional with a low slung mahogany bar counter found in the narrow front room. The back bar was also finished in solid mahogany, along with a side profiled built in timber clock also in mahogany. There was a small back room, which just about fitted one medium sized table. This was a respectable pub, which had a steady flow of customers on our Friday afternoon visit. Beer wise nothing outlandish, so I went for the Laines Breaker Pale Ale.

On 30th March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3121 recommendations about 3121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Victory Inn

Great looking glazed tiled exterior ,this is a small street corner boozer among the Lanes.The L shaped interior is traditional,but my visit was brief as part of a crawl so I will leave detail to others.
Choice of 3 real ales Jennings Snecklifter,Doom Bar and Laines Breaker Pale Ale (fine but not memorable) which left me a bit underwhelmed given it's 2018 GBG listing.Worth a tick ,but not really a destination for the ale hunter.

On 25th March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2383 recommendations about 2383 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Victory Inn

A nice looking corner pub with a pleasantly tiled tiled exterior, wooden floored inside there are a couple of drinking areas fairly well utilized on my visit with a mix of locals, shoppers and beer tourists thanks to the PuG tour I was part of.The beers didn't particularly excite, with a choice from Doom Bar, Springhead Snecklifter and Laines Breaker Pale, the latter while perfectly drinkable it was a little non-descript.
The Pub itself was quite enjoyable.

On 25th March 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1582 recommendations about 1563 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about The Victory Inn

It may only have been a Monday, but the Victory was an oasis of calm on a recent lunchtime visit. Plenty of seats, some quiet conversation and subdued background music.

The bar featured 3 ales (2 Dark Star & 1 Laine), with the 4th clip turned. Laine also had a couple of offerings on the keg fonts. I was grateful for the generous CAMRA discount on my pint of Hophead, which slipped down nicely.

Worth checking out if you want a break from the busy streets outside.

On 3rd December 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 331 recommendations about 314 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Victory Inn

We quite liked the Victory when we did Brighton in November 2014, and I had it in mind for a revisit. It's one of those pubs that attracts a mixed crowd, with one-off tourists mixing with regulars and student-types to create a good atmosphere. There are six hand pumps, two of which had ciders on, the real ales at the time of my visit being Dark Star Hop Head, Laine Bestest Bitter, Langham Black Swallow and Unbarred White IPA. Probably the most interesting beer selection of my eight pubs on this day, and I enjoyed my Black Swallow, a 6% black IPA. The best pub in this part of town, in my view.

Date of visit: 1st January 2017

On 20th January 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3141 recommendations about 2950 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Victory Inn

Have to say that my experience was very similar to the previous reviewer in that The Victory Inn wasn’t on my original list of places for a visit, but I was enticed in by the attractive pub exterior and liked what I found inside.
A good traditional two sectioned interior and after quick and efficient service from the friendly barmaid I was soon ensconced on one of the pew seats with pint and pork scratchings to do a bit of people watching as the eclectic mix of Brighton shoppers, locals and tourists utilised the Victory.
Alongside the standard draft offerings there are six hand pumps on the bar, two for Thatchers ciders and four ale pumps which had four ales all from Sussex breweries.
For my visit Pin Up Beers Pale Ale, WJKings Festive and Laines Brewery Best were available alongside Dark Star Original, advertised as the Ale of the day at £3.15 a pint. Tried the Dark Star as I thought it rude not to as it was the ale of the day and the Pin Up brew and both were well kept pints.
Like other reviewers have now added this to places to drop into again when next in town.

On 27th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1845 recommendations about 1781 pubs]

Page: 1 2