User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore Autumn 2022 Midlands Pub Crawl. with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Railway Bell, Brighton

28 Surrey Street
Brighton
BN1 3PA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Railway Bell

Very close to the station. It was a straight choice between Doom Bar and Harvey's Sussex Best. Doom Bar lost - but so did I! If that was Sussex Best I'd hate to try Sussex worst! Glad I only had half as it wasn't great. Quickly moved on.

On 30th September 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1372 recommendations about 1297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Railway Bell

This pub is situated almost at the mouth of the railway station's entrance and receives a glowing review on WhatPub?.
Given the location, the pub holds no surprises but being Brighton, is friendlier than most railway transients' pubs. It's carpeted, has games machines and is big on TV sports with multiple screens dotted about the place, generating much noise.
Ales: Harvey's Sussex Best at £2.20 a half which is a bit steep though at least it was in good condition.
This place will appeal to the sports' enthusiast but has retained little for the pub traditionalist and given the location, there are plenty of local alternatives.

On 24th March 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1534 recommendations about 1511 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Railway Bell

Given the location, it's no surprise that this place has a transient feel, and the fairly basic fit-out doesn't exactly help (with the sports TVs being the most obvious features). Four handpumps on the counter, offering Doom Bar, Harvey's, Pedigree New World and Cameron's Thirst Blood (£4.25).

On 13th November 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 7117 recommendations about 7117 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Railway Bell

When first arriving in Brighton early morning I utilised this place because I needed somewhere showing the Lions Tour game and this was open early, had the game on, beer flowing, and pork scratchings behind the bar for a healthy breakfast.
Actually it’s not so bad and certainly seems to have been improved from reviews before its refurb.
The space in front of the bar is wood floored and has some high stools and high tables. And then the two areas either side are carpeted with some comfy seating and a decent sized plazma screen for both areas.
And there are four hand pumps on the bar which had Doombar, Harveys Best and TT Landlord with the fourth reversed.. And I managed to eke out perfectly reasonable pints of the Best and Landlord in each half of the Rugby, by which time it had gone past 12 and The Evening Star was open..

On 21st June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1849 recommendations about 1785 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Railway Bell

The pub has been smartened up since my previous visit and was serving 4 real ales. Located very handily for the train station.

On 13th November 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2834 recommendations about 2775 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Debbie Wood left this review about The Railway Bell

The Railway Bell has recently been taken on by new owners and is currently closed for a major refurbishment. They are looking at opening again early July with a launch party a few weeks later with focus on friendly service for everyone and high standards. More details to follow, take the time to visit and see the new and improved Railway Bell.

On 22nd June 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Railway Bell

The Railway Bell is a very basic pub with décor and atmosphere that is more suited for the waiting room over the road on platform three than a town centre boozer. I had to wait for the barman to finish chatting to a couple of munters at the bar before he would grace me with some service and my half of Guinness, whilst good, was a very short measure. The bar supports two hand pumps which were drawing Harveys Best and Spitfire and a standard draught selection was also available. To the right of the entrance there is a dartboard and a pool table can be found in a back room also to the right of the pub. There is a plasma screen and two portable sets that are used to show football on Sky Sports when it is on. A match had just finished before my visit and the screens were muted and some dance music had been selected off the jukebox by some of the locals.

This place is very forgettable and I will certainly walk past when next in the area. I would give a rating of 4/10, but it gets an extra point for having some pub darts laid out by the board for general use.

On 25th January 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3955 recommendations about 3932 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Railway Bell

Beers from courage,harveys,shepherd neame & smiths. Next to the train station.

On 9th July 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2834 recommendations about 2775 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Railway Bell

Full of old boys and drop outs trying to make their pint last as long as half a dozen roll ups. Had a pretty poor half of Spitfire.

On 11th June 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 776 recommendations about 697 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Railway Bell

Very plain pub. Might be handy for the station, but otherwise not worth a visit. No real ale. Looks like it has been gutted and then someone decided to put in a few table & chairs, at a later date. Has a pool table, dartboard and juke box. Expect to stand even if they not overly busy.

On 24th February 2007 - rating: 4
[User has posted 757 recommendations about 720 pubs]