User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

Queens Head, Brighton

69 Queens Road
Brighton
BN1 3XD
Phone: 01273205800

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Queens Head

Nice looking pub close to the station serving 3 ales and a couple of craft beers. We went for Sharps Atlantic which was OK.

On 30th September 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1087 recommendations about 1044 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Queens Head

Quite an attractive pub on the main road down from the station, with a fairly traditional interior featuring a central island bar. Mix of furniture and slightly eclectic decor. Also has a row of benches out front. Pizza menu. Three real ales - including the Firebird Heritage XX (£4.10) - and two ciders from the six handpumps.

On 13th November 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Queens Head

Handy for the station. A central island served 4 real ales,2 ciders and "craft keg".

On 15th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2733 recommendations about 2676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Queens Head

Another close to the Brighton train station pub that has upped its game in recent years. I remember this being a right dive several years ago, but this pub opposite the station main entrance is much smarter than I remember it, and now offers an interesting beer selection on both keg and cask.
This may be down to it now being owned by the Indigo Pub Company., a small Brighton based PubCo that has about 14 outlets in Brighton and seems to be responsible for improving some of them, although they also seem to be responsible for the considered desecration by locals of the former Dark Star Brewery flagship pub, the Stand Up Inn in Haywards Heath
Some interesting keg options available including a couple of wheat beers, different Czech lagers to the norm and Cobra on tap. And on the ale front there were six pumps on the bar with mainly Sussex Breweries, including Dark Star , Arundel and WJ King and my pint of Arundels Sussex gold was well kept.
Unfortunately the block the building is housed in is currently undergoing renovation and is covered in scaffolding, which doesn’t make it very inviting from the outside at the moment, but was worth popping into.

On 25th June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Queens Head

Run of the mill sort of pub opposite Brighton Station.One large island bar with a fair selection of real ales and the staff were friendly and offered tasters of beers.On the whole not a bad pub but nothing special.

On 6th September 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Queens Head

The Queen’s Head was very busy when I visited early on Saturday afternoon and the crowd seemed to be a mix of football fans who had just finished watching a Premiership game on one of the two projector screens located at either end of the pub and weekend revellers who had just embarked on an evening of drinking and shouting. This is a reasonably sized open plan pub with an island bar that is awkwardly placed by the entrance meaning that it can be difficult to move around the pub as it gets very narrow in places. I counted six hand pumps in amongst the standard and premium draught taps and although three of them were unused Black Stallion, Arundel and 1st Quality Cider were available from the functioning three. Food is served and it seemed to be fairly basic pub grub, but it was reasonably priced.

There are three picnic tables on the path outside and these had been apprehended by smokers.

I would revisit this pub, but at a quieter time as it was quite uncomfortable when full.

On 25th January 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about Queens Head

A big improvemnt to this pub from a few years ago. If the 2 - 3 minutes walk from the Evening Star is too much, then this is a worthy stopping point which is across from the station to sample the guest ales they serve. Our pint was well kept at the time of our visit.

On 18th August 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Queens Head

Across the road from Brighton train station. Arundel & dark star beers. Advertising live music.

On 9th July 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2733 recommendations about 2676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about Queens Head

Sells real ales but I don't think they are that committed to them. The quality wasn't great and it seems more like an evening lounge bar than a pub.

On 12th June 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]