User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with AlanH on the Pub Forum

The Quadrant, Brighton

12-13 North Street Quadrant
Brighton
BN1 3GJ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Delboy 20 left this review about The Quadrant

Another decent little pub. I can't really add to Pubsignman's description so I won't try to! There were 3 beers on when I called. We tried 2 from the Hepworth brewery - Prospect and Pullman. Both were good but nothing special. I would happily call in again.

On 30th September 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1049 recommendations about 1010 pubs]


Pub SignMan left this review about The Quadrant

Another pub on the road running from the train station to the beach, this is a smart venue with plenty of interesting Victorian features, despite the pub having been opened out a fair bit over the years. Entering into the lower bar, you find a room with scuffed floorboards, banquette and low stool seating to the left under an enormous mirror and a lovely curved, dark wood bar counter to the right. The bar has decorative brass lamps on the counter top and an impressive, elaborately detailed bar back arch with some nice old lights above the serving area. A staircase to the rear of the room leads up past a nice series of etched glass panes to a first-floor room that occasionally plays host to live music, as was the case when I visited during the Washout Festival. The upper bar is a small, wedge-shaped space with a deceptive amount of room for small tables served by a mix of chairs and low stools. Some nice lamps act as feature decorations in the front windows and there is a grand mural of the back wall depicting a somewhat cliched Victorian-era scene, whilst a few old black and white photos of local landmarks round out the room’s décor. There was a nice relaxed vibe in here on a Saturday evening accompanied by solid soundtrack of rock songs which played quietly enough in the background.
The bar supports five handpulls which were dispensing Black Sheep Holy Grail, Robinsons Trooper, Dorking Red India and a cider, with one pump unused. The Red India was a rather steep £4.55 for a pint, but it was in good nick and went down nicely. The barman here was highly efficient and very friendly, dealing well with some younger customers who turned up for the festival but had no ID on them.
I missed out on this pub during the Pubs Galore Brighton crawl the previous year, so was keen to check it out when I was next in town. It was definitely worth the wait, as I really enjoyed the fine Victorian features and the well-kept ale. Like many Brighton pubs, this place does a fine job without really standing out from the crowd, thus becoming another to add to the long list of pubs worth checking out or adding to a crawl around the city.

On 19th September 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2471 recommendations about 2471 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Quadrant

This was a nice pub to start our crawl but my Langham beer was dull.Good interior.

On 13th April 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Quadrant

Built in 1864 and Grade II-listed with an interior that CAMRA lists as being regionally important, this is a very attractive corner pub on a main road leading to the railway station. The exterior features black granite pilasters with ornate gilded capitals and the name of Thomas Bovey, landlord from the late 19th to early 20th centuries. The rear entrance and picnic tables appear less inviting. The interior is indeed impressive, especially for a place that’s not that large. There’s a split-level interior, probably explained by Brighton’s topography. There’s much dark wood with an attractive bar and bar back with brass lantern bar to the windows and etched glass aplenty.
There was a very friendly barmaid who served me with a half of Langham’s Halfway to Heaven at a fairly steep £2.20. It tasted like a bonfire – I’m not sure it’s meant to taste like this. If it was off, I’ve never tasted anything like this before.
There’s live music and comedy nights here if desired. Worth a return visit just for the interior alone and worthy of inclusion in any crawl of the city, but the ‘Restrooms’ sign doesn’t belong on this side of the Atlantic.

On 1st April 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 956 recommendations about 941 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Quadrant

Have been meaning to visit this interesting-looking pub by the clock tower for years, so glad to have finally called in. The exterior of this wedge-shaped building has plenty of decorative features, including fascia boards erected in late-Victorian times by Tom Bovey (the then landlord). The split-level interior comprises two compact bars that have been little altered over the years, justifying the place being recorded on Camra's regional inventory. Three handpumps can be found on the lower counter, and these were dispensing Langham's Halfway to Heaven, Arundel Wild Heaven APA and Laine Breaker pale ale.

On 31st March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Quadrant

Grade II listed building that was built in 1864. This well preserved pub had some interesting features, I especially liked the bowed and etched glass window next to the double doors situated in the lower bar area. Heavy embellished brass lamps also ran across the two main side windows, plus a further couple of heavy brass standing lamps adorned the lower bar counter. Along with three brass ceiling fans, someone must be kept busy keeping that lot polished. The carved mahogany back bar was also another added bonus. Three ales on handpump, so I went for the Laine Brewery Breaker which was in fine shape.

On 30th March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Quadrant

Good looking Victorian street corner pub with an ornate interior.The island bar serves two sections at different levels,both with comfortable furnishings and lots of etched glass on display.I particularly liked the lamp stands on the bar counter.Up a narrow stairway is a first floor function room,with live music and other cultural events.Music flyers decorate the walls in the bar.There's a very laid back vibe,it's dog friendly and it seems removed from the busy shopping streets of the area,although I was in early doors on a Friday lunchtime.There were 3 real ales on my trip Langham Halfway to Heaven,Laine Breaker and a decent Arundel Wild Heaven.Most certainly worth a visit on a crawl,I might well stay longer next time.

On 25th March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Quadrant Freehouse

A visually impressive multi level Victorian pub,beers noted were Laines Best Bitter, Bartlebys Idle Bo Stout, my choice of 360 degrees West Coast Pale along with another beer now forgotten from Hepworths. Lots of dark wood and mirrors inside with another room with seating upstairs, I found it to be a good atmospheric pub despite its main road location.

On 26th June 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1325 recommendations about 1311 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about Quadrant Freehouse

Just about hangs on to its 7 rating for me. Hasn't really improved since last visit. Local Laines Best is available but is much more expensive than the nearby Hope. Two Dark Star and Thatchers Heritage also available.

On 15th September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Quadrant Freehouse

Bar and comedy/live music venue with the interior spread over different levels. 4 real ales and food served.

On 7th November 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]

Page: 1 2