User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Favourite Bands with Pubsignman on the Pub Forum

Mitre Tavern, Brighton

13 Baker Street
Brighton
BN1 4JN

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Mitre Tavern

For some reason when in Brighton and after a pint of Harvey’s I’ve tended to visit the Lord Nelson and give this one a miss. But a visit as part of the Pubs Galore crawl exposed that to be a mistake. This is another fine Harvey’s pub in Brighton Town. Well described by previous reviewers I liked the layout of this two room pub and the fact that it was being well utilised by friendly locals, one of which didn’t mind us perching around his table.
I do like Harveys Mild’s and dark beers, so was good to find the Dark Mild and Dark Porter on and the Porter was very pleasant. Yes totally agree, well worth searching out..

On 5th April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Mitre Tavern

Winding your way down on Baker Street, light in your head and dead on your feet. Well, another crazy day, you'll drink the night away but perhaps not in the Mitre alone.
This is much more of a community locals’ boozer, described by CAMRA as being rooted in the 1950s. Indeed, the pub may have gone decimal – I know not when – but it takes cash-only; no cards. It was very full on our visit, clearly doing a roaring trade which must be good for business, hopefully securing its future.
Ales: this is a Harvey’s house and my half of Sussex Best was fine, price not clocked.
This place makes for an altogether different experience if you’re gagging for a Brighton knees-up and want to escape the city’s counterculture.

On 31st March 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 953 recommendations about 939 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Mitre Tavern

Excellent Harvey's corner pub, not far from the station but retaining its character as a traditional side-street local. The main bar and small side room are both pleasantly old-fashioned - nothing fancy but all well kept. A particularly welcome surprise was to find the Dark Mild, Old Ale and the first-class seasonal Porter as well as the regular Sussex on four of five handpumps. Well worth seeking out.

On 31st March 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Mitre Tavern

Good to see the double door corner entrance still in use, as a lot of pubs now seem to keep them shut to fit in some extra seating space. The pub had a jovial atmosphere on our Friday Eve visit, where the majority of the customers were beer drinkers, so the flow on the four Harvey's handpumps was constant. It was also good to see a mild beer on handpump and the only one I'd seen all day on our Brighton PG crawl.

On 31st March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Mitre Tavern

Afterwork on Friday,this pub was very popular.Tied to Harveys,it's very traditional,a street corner boozer with a darts board at one end ,although throwing arrows when it was this busy may not be appreciated.There were 4 handpumps drawing Sussex Best,Old Ale,Dark Mild and Dark Porter which was on good form.Three dark ales including a Mild was noteworth and I would happily return for a longer stay than my brief crawl visit.Deserves its 2018 GBG listing.

On 25th March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Mitre Tavern

A backstreet Harvey community pub, it is very much a traditional boozer, four Harveys beers were on including their Porter ,one I hadn't tried before, it was of course a perfectly decent beer, in a perfectly decent pub.

On 25th March 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1322 recommendations about 1308 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Mitre Tavern

This L shaped Harvey’s pub is tucked away down a quiet side street but remains fairly easy to reach from the train station or Laines area of Brighton. The main room is carpeted with a mixture of banquette and standard seating throughout. The walls are half panelled with some light coloured wallpaper above which brightens up what might otherwise be quite a gloomy room. The doors and windows have etched glass panes, some of which bear the Harvey’s name, although they all look fairly new. An archway to the right of the servery takes you into a separate seating that is a bit cosier than the rest of the pub. A tiled fireplace stands at the far end of the room and there was a TV on showing muted football to a group of regulars. I also managed to spot a dartboard and book swap.
There were four Harvey’s beers available on my visit – Best, Mild (£2.50), Olympia and Armada. The Mild was as lovely as I remember it from the last time I tried some and, in contrast to the experience of previous reviewers, it was served to me a very friendly and welcoming barmaid.
I think the Mitre is a fine little pub that might not quite match up to the Lord Nelson or Constant Service, but it is still a nice place to stop off for a drink or two. It has retained more of a traditional feel than many other Brighton pubs which have felt the need to compromise to a degree and as such a return visit may well be on the cards.

On 30th July 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2427 recommendations about 2427 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Mitre Tavern

Located on a side street this is a small old style pub with a snug area to the side of the bar. 5 harvey real ales. The pub has a dartboard.

On 14th June 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2692 recommendations about 2636 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Mitre Tavern

The Mitre Tavern is a backstreet Harvey’s boozer and during my visit on Tuesday evening last week the five hand pumps were drawing Best (x3), Old Ale and Christmas Ale. There is also a standard draught selection alongside Stowford Press cider. Around to the rear right of the bar is a seating area and to the left is a dartboard and plasma screen that was showing football highlights via Sky Sports. I found this a bit odd as nobody in the pub was interested and the volume was up quite high. The atmosphere would have been immensely better if it had been turned off and maybe a little background music could have been played. There is an area for smokers at the rear and I managed to bash my head on the low doorframe to the toilets that had no warning signs.
It was busy for a Tuesday night but I’m not sure why as I found the woman on duty, whom I took to be the landlady, to be very unwelcoming. The vast majority of the customers seemed harmless enough, but a couple of regulars at the bar were rude and inhospitable.

I hope that I caught this place at a bad time as it could be a great little boozer, but alas I got the feeling that strangers are not welcome.

On 6th February 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Mitre Tavern

An unspoilt back street corner local. Five hand pumps dispensing Harveys ales, sadly my Mild was poor. Traditionally decorated inside in various brown shades. There’s a dart board available. The locals can be a bit unwelcoming of strangers but we were left to our own devices. Really could be better, there’s a good little pub waiting to happen here.

On 23rd July 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]