User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Prince Albert, Brighton

48 Trafalgar Street
Brighton
BN1 4ED
Phone: 01273730499

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Delboy 20 left this review about The Prince Albert

Very striking pub well described below. We were short on time so we had a quick drink from Burning sky which was decent. I would happily call again.

On 30th September 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1049 recommendations about 1010 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Prince Albert

A commanding pub, made all the more striking by the polychromatic paint job to the double-fronted façade. The end result rather sums up the essence of Brighton in a nutshell.
The interior is multi-roomed with pale bare floors and simple pine furniture, peripheral pew seating, wicker chairs with colourful patterned wallpaper, some painted t ‘n’ g panelling and lots of beer mats. There are murals of everyone from Mr. Spock to an imperial star destroyer guarding the Death Star; eclectic is too tame a word to describe the interior, though ugly sums up the cash machine. There are fireplaces to the rooms, use not discerned, but there’s a log burning stove to one which does appear to be functional. Live music seems to be the big thing here and you can hear it from the pavement but it’s more muted inside, so I expect that it takes place on the upper floors, not explored.
Ales: good service dishing out that listed below with my Burning Sky’s Plateau at a very reasonable £1.80 a half and a welcome drop too.
This place seems to be a lot of fun, but we were in relatively early in the evening, so I don’t know how banging it might be towards closing time when the drink has been flowing freely.
Note that there are no locks to the gent’s lavatory cubicles, which is possibly an anti-drug use measure but denying people their privacy isn’t on.

On 1st April 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 956 recommendations about 941 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Prince Albert

Originally built in 1848 as a station hotel. This is now a large and striking bohemian pub and what with the multi coloured painted exterior, it looks very Cuban in style. The service in here was excellent, even though the pub was busy on our visit and the staff were very friendly and chatty. I went for the Burning Sky Plateau, which would definitely pass the three pint mark.

On 31st March 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Prince Albert

Recently repainted again, now with an unmissable six-colour frontage. Inside, it retains a multi-room layout of attractive appearance and some regional heritage interest. The wooden benches at the front are a popular spot during good weather, and the place also operates as one of Brighton's many live music venues. Decent selection of real ales in a variety of styles available from the six handpumps, including two from Burning Sky whose logo appears on the façade. The current incarnation may be its best ever, and the place is very handy for the station.

On 31st March 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Prince Albert

A very large and colourful pub,set back from the busy street leaving a large courtyard to the front.It sits below the station,on the underpass road so good for a pre or post train journey pint.The interior is interesting with the bar in the right room but with corridor access,while there was more seating to the left side and a door to a rear snug.The wooden floor gives it an ale house feel,and music is a big feature here.Lively around the bar there were 6 handpumps drawing on my visit Dark Star Hophead Loral,Burning Sky Plateau and Aurora (very decent) ,Longmans Best Bitter , Pilot Pale Ale and a real cider.A decent selection ,worth of it's 2018 GBG listing and one of the revisit list when next in town.

On 25th March 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Prince Albert

My last visit to this pub must have been too soon after the death of John Peel in October 2004, so the mural was new to me. Also the layout of the bar was not as I remembered it when Luton played Brighton at the Withdean Stadium in 2006. The character of the pub has changed to the extent that there's now a big focus on music, but it's still a pub with good beer and still handy for the station.

There were six hand pumps and my notes tell me 16 keg fonts, though I don't remember counting them. There's a nice dark wood bar with a brass foot rail and some hooks. As noted by previous reviewers, the bar also serves those who use the back room, and there are other rooms beyond which can be pleasant to sit in. At the time of my visit Franklins Smoked Porter was on special offer at £2.50 a pint, a fact that led me to have not just one half but two, so the beer must still have been in good nick.

Date of visit: 3rd January 2017

On 21st February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2625 recommendations about 2475 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Prince Albert

Impressive mural on the outside of the pub as mentioned below extremely lively on Saturday evening as you would expect and very bohemian in its feel. Multi roomed with six hand pumps on the go,the Burning Sky Plateu was in top form. I loved the vibrancy of this place, its right up my street and will use this pub again .

On 26th June 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1325 recommendations about 1311 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Prince Albert

New massive mural on the outside wall since my last visit ( numerous dead musicians and John peel ). Multi roomed interior with a real fire in one. 5 real ales. Live music blasting down from the upstairs venue.

On 15th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Prince Albert

This is a rather bohemian (even for Brighton) multi-roomed pub close to Brighton station. The flank wall externally is completely covered in a mural of musicians and other names including John Lennon, Jimi Hendrix, John Peel and George Best. Inside, the main room has the bar with a hatch to the smaller room behind. This room has various flags on the ceiling including one of Che Guevara, band flyers, lots of promotion posters for Brighton Festivals of yesteryear, beer mats all around the picture rail area, a spinning disco ball, old tin adverts for the likes of Bovril, Bisto, Colman's mustard etc and behind the bar, a Hadjuk Split football scarf. Seating at various sized regular tables, the larger versions having notes on top requesting they be saved for larger groups, fair enough. The room has a log fire but not needed on a warm March day.
The small square room behind the bar had a definite ethnic feel with a leaning towards North African/Moroccan influence, the soundtrack appeared to be North African/Moorish, beads, patterned fabrics and so on as well as a dresser full of jars, bottles, old tins and some board games.
The other small rooms repeat the main bar pattern with loads of band flyers and metal advertisements from days long gone.
Live music is obviously big here with a number of events advertised, I assume in the upstairs function room. Outdoor seating to the front at picnic benches.
Food served, looks decent value with F&C £8.95, burgers £7.50, paninis £6.50-£7.50.
There are now six handpumps, a good range too with Longman Copper Hop (£3.60), Bedlam Porter, Harveys Sussex Best, Kissingate Chennai IPA, Burning Sky Plateau Pale Ale and Orchard Pig Navelgazer cider. My Copper Hop was spot on, all beers listed on a chalkboard inc Abv and price. Nice to see prices clearly displayed.
The first pub of my recent Brighton jaunt, a very good start to the day and probably not my last visit. If short of time before a train this is worth considering as well as a double up with the Evening Star nearby.

On 30th March 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Prince Albert

The Prince Albert is ideally located a stones throw from Brighton Railway Station and was the last pub on an all day session crawl around the area on Saturday. I didn’t note any hand pumps, but this was more due to my state of mind as I have no reason to believe that the four hand pumps noted as being on the bar in the previous review have been ripped out in the last three months. I did note that Amstel and Peroni were available alongside Stowford Press and the pint of Guinness I tucked into was spot on and served by a very friendly barmaid. I left at 23:20 and there was no sign of the pub closing so there was a late license which is probably true on Fridays also and there was a bouncer on the door that seemed to be there to check IDs rather than dress. The bar area is located to the right of the entrance and there was a plasma screen up on the wall showing muted match of the day and throughout the pub there was some lively music playing that seemed to go down well with the punters. To the left of the entrance is a seating area with a coal fire and directly behind the bar is a small area that houses a quiz machine and a tall table. Beyond this area down a corridor towards the rear are two more rooms and out the back is a small outside area with more seating, the gent’s toilets and some stairs that lead up to who knows where. Back inside the pub there is a flight of stairs that lead up to the ladies toilets and a function room that houses a big screen.

This pub is very handily placed for the train station and I’ll probably pop back in when I next visit Brighton.

On 28th January 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]

Page: 1 2