To rate, review and add pictures to pubs -
JOIN the Galore Network.

Title: Peak District by public transport
Creator: Will Larter

A circuit of the Peak District using the Derbyshire Wayfarer ticket on buses and trains. Starting from Sheffield catch any train to Chesterfield and walk into the markets area for the first stop at the Royal Oak. First bus is the 170 at 12:05 to Bakewell, stopping at Wigley (about 18 minutes) for the Fox and Goose. The next bus an hour later continues the crawl to Bakewell. Third pub is the Manners, then the 171 bus at 14:25 to Youlgreave for the Farm Yard Inn. Same bus an hour later back to Bakewell for the Queens Arms, then the 173 at 16:15 to Litton for the Red Lion. Don't miss the last bus of the day from Litton to Hope: the 173 at 17:37. From Hope, after visiting the Cheshire Cheese, take the bus (272 at 19:04)or train (19:34) direct to Sheffield or the 272 bus to Hathersage for the Millstone (on Sheffield Road above the village). Last 272s are at 21:45 and 23:45.

Switch to route map:


The Royal Oak (1)
Fox & Goose Inn (2)
The Manners (3)
The Farmyard Inn (4)
Queens Arms Hotel (5)
The Red Lion Inn (6)
The Cheshire Cheese Inn (7)
Millstone Inn (8)