User name:



Sign in with Facebook

Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW

Chat about:
Wetherspoons and Micro Pubs with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

7 Station Approach, Marylebone Road
Phone: 02074863489

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines

Aqualung . left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

I came here today to find all the beers tried were not clear, ranging from a haze to the Stateside Rye being so cloudy I sent it back. None of the three pints tried were in anything like good condition. If Spoons are going to charge over three quid a pint then the least they can do is look after the beer. Score reduced from 8 to 4 and this one goes on my avoid list along with most of the other Central London Spoons.

Visit August 2013
There seems to be a lot of debate about what the original function of this room was.
One of the theories is that it was a Cinema. There used to be a Cinema in the vicinity but I'm fairly sure it wasn't here and the room layout is totally wrong.

The official Spoons line is that it was the Metropolitan Railway's Company Headquarters, which may well have been true at one time, but the Met Railway lost its private company status in 1933.

Like the Finchley Road Spoons this has GK IPA rather then Ruddles included among the eighteen pumps. Sadly there is also Courage Best which I assume is a permanent fixture.
Locale beers were represented by Vale and By The Horns.

I arrived here around midday on a Friday so it wasn't too busy. As all of the guest beers seemed to be priced at £3.25. I went for one of the stronger ones, Brewster's Calamity Jane which was in very good order. This is the most expensive Spoons I've been to apart from the one on Victoria station but I seem to have hit it on a good day as the beer was excellent, I got served a full pint quickly and it was a nice place to while away the time.

On 23rd October 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 739 pubs]

Real Ale Ray left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

A respectable Spoons this one, well worth a look in for the décor alone. The service was good on our Saturday afternoon visit and our choice of Tring Brewery Kotuku and Twickenham Naked Ladies were in good shape.

On 4th August 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1633 recommendations about 1633 pubs]

Malden man left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

It doesn't look that great on entering with the gaudy signage and a miserable looking front lobby however beyond there is an interesting and rather pleasing building. A large rectangular room has the bar along a front wall, there is a semi-circular boarded area in front, carpeted elsewhere. An attractive space, square fluted columns, a decorative powder blue ceiling divided into sections by downstand beams, various coats of arms affixed. Leaded windows, an art deco frieze at high level plus some decent panelling.
There are three banks of handpumps, the guest ales were on the middle one with the 'spoons usual suspects repeated on the two flanks. Phoenix Wobbly Bob was a decent choice even if at £3.35 is a centre of town JDW price. They were knocking out what I reckon were left over Thursday curries for £3.99, seemingly rather popular.
Surprisingly good once inside.

On 1st July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1307 recommendations about 1290 pubs]

Quinno _ left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

A surprisingly acceptable Spoons to the immediate left on exit from Baker St tube. Its name displayed in gaudy neon blue lighting outside doesn't necessarily promise much. But on entering up a few steps (past a lobby area with some seats that are perfect for people watching) is a long bar and opulent room with nice heraldic décor (Metropolitan railway, I understand) in Wedgwood colours and sporting ornate gold leaf columns. At the bar are 18 pumps with a pretty full selection though there’s a bit of doubling-up. The beer is usually pretty good. Quizzer often wants to pay. Can cope with the football crowds fairly well, the Little Bristol this place became before the Conference play-off final was impressive and the staff did well to keep on top of everything. One of Tim's best efforts and well-worth a look.

On 7th June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2806 recommendations about 2793 pubs]

Please Note: This review is over a year old.

Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

Always has an excellent choice of real ale from a total of 18 handpumps (despite a few duplicates), and very handy for Baker Street underground. Note the weird contrasts between the neon-lit entrance, the tables crammed into the pokey lobby and the cavernous main bar hall. Guest ales (e.g. my recent pint of Autumn Breeze from regular supplier Arundel Brewery) currently £3.30, so quite pricy for a 'spoons but the condition is usually excellent.

On 26th October 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3454 recommendations about 3454 pubs]

Please Note: This review is over a year old.

Pub SignMan left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

This large Wetherspoons pub next to Baker Street tube station certainly has a lot of potential, but in my experiences it is one of those pubs that has such a large footfall that it doesn’t really need to bother trying to get the basics right. You enter into a small lobby-style area with limited seating options and little of interest, but having passed through here, you turn 90 degrees to the right, ascend a few steps and emerge into a grand hall, with the servery along what is in effect, the front wall. The room is mostly carpeted, with a wooden floored mid-section, and is packed full of seating, all arranged around two rows of pillars that run the length of the room. It’s interesting that Roger compares the room to a ballroom, as a friend of mine is adamant that it used to be one, although it’s difficult to see how, given the position of the pillars. Perhaps it was on a different floor of the same building? A nice grapevine frieze runs around the room and there are lots of coats of arms for the Metropolitan Railway who used to occupy the building. A few modern art prints hang from the walls and low level lighting is used to good effect to create a warm ambiance.
So far so good, but on my recent visit, things started to go wrong as soon as I tried to order something. I counted fifteen hand pumps, all clipped, but the first three I picked were all unavailable, despite not having the obligatory ‘Coming Soon’ signs on them. Even more disappointingly, guest ales were the likes of Courage Best and Young’s Special. Eventually I managed to find a half decent guest ale, which turned out to be in pretty poor shape. I also made the mistake of ordering food, which was a whole new ordeal. Having ordered a dish, I waited 15 minutes only to be told they had sold out. They then rushed my alternative choice and I ended up with a meal that was only partially edible. I don’t expect great cuisine in a ‘Spoons, but I would like it to at least be edible. I’ve used this pub fairly regularly over the last five or six years and each time I come here I find more faults. I’ve also found that they quite often close when there is a match at Wembely, so football fans would do well to explore the back streets of Marylebone or make alternative pre-match plans.
All in all, a big let-down and were it not for its very convenient location, I’d probably give up on the place completely. Worth using as a meet-up venue, especially outside peak times so you can admire the interior, but I wouldn’t stay here for more than a quick one.

On 1st August 2013 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1480 recommendations about 1480 pubs]

Please Note: This review is over a year old.

Roger Button left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

This stylish Wetherspoons is situated next to Baker Street Station hence the tube line connections in the name. The main body of the building dates from 1911 and was originally the recruitment centre for London Transport.

It doesn’t initially look too promising from the outside, a glass fronted cinema style entrance leading to a lobby with a few high tables. The initial disappointment is soon left behind as you enter the grand hall up the stairs to the right where the main bar is situated. Were it not for the intrusive octet of thick columns propping up the high ornate ceiling, you could imagine this being a grand ballroom similar to that seen at ‘Spoons Liverpool Street outlet, the Hamilton Hall. Although not quite as ornate as the HH, there is much to admire and note including the decorative frieze surrounding the upper part of the walls and the Coats of Arms adorning the ceiling beams.

The long bar aids service and the 18 hand pumps offer a decent selection of guest beers although you do pay a price for the opulence with guest ales currently clocking up at a minimum of £3.10 and some of the top end lagers pushing £4, prices almost unheard of at a Wetherspoons.

It can get excessively busy and should definitely be avoided if there is football on at Wembley Stadium as this area is a major gathering point for football supporters. That said I have always found the service to be quite reliable even at the most trying of times.

Given that the area isn’t flush with notable pubs, the Met acts as more than just a ‘Spoons of convenience and despite the high (for ‘Spoons) prices is still cheaper than most with a better beer choice and attractive surroundings but you just need to pick the right time to get the most out of it.

On 17th April 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]

Please Note: This review is over a year old.

Steve C left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a vast upstairs Spoons bar that is an ideal meeting place as it is right next to the station, but I wouldn't stay all night.

On 3rd February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3030 recommendations about 3013 pubs]

Please Note: This review is over a year old.

Clive Thompson left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

Small frontage but large and cavernous inside like most Wetherspoons. My experience is that they generally have a good selection of beers in this one and this was the case on my recent visit during the festival. I managed to find a couple that I'd not had before including the smoked beer. Plenty of tables so you can usually find somewhere to sit. Service OK but you do get the impression they don't really want to be there.

On 25th April 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 697 recommendations about 646 pubs]

Please Note: This review is over a year old.

john mcgraw left this review about Metropolitan Bar

Very large Wetherspoon's pub converted from former London Transport offices.Pretty modern in design with a good selection of real ales at reasonable prices.Right next to Baker Street Station.

On 21st November 2006 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2020 recommendations about 2002 pubs]